PDA

View Full Version : Rev 8: Toolbar issues with IE7?



js1234224
22 Feb 2007, 1:37 AM
Hi Jack,

Great work! Thanks for all your efforts on this.

I think there may be a couple of regressions that have crept into the last couple of builds that you might want to know about. If you take a look at http://www.yui-ext.com/deploy/ext-1.0-alpha1/examples/menu/menus.html with IE7, you'll see a gap has appeared in the buttons that are hovered/selected ("Toggle Me" button for example). Works fine in Firefox though.

I also no longer seem to be able to use either of the following doctypes in pages containing the toolbars in IE7. The rendering of the buttons seem a little strange when added. This worked fine for me in earlier builds, and still works fine in firefox.

Add either of the following to menus.html to demonstrate the issue:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

Keep up the good work - your efforts are most appreciated.

Thanks,

John

jack.slocum
22 Feb 2007, 2:35 AM
What a nightmare. I am working on it.

jack.slocum
22 Feb 2007, 3:49 AM
This is fixed in the latest Rev. It still isn't perfect for all buttons, and I will continue to try to find a more reliable workaround.

IE7 in strict mode is full of bugs that are difficult to work around. I hope the IE team addresses some of them soon.

mnugter
22 Feb 2007, 4:56 AM
EDIT2:

Sorry, it works correctly now, I have no idea why it works now and didn't work before. Probably some caching issues...




With the latest rev I got this problem in IE6:

http://www.dinnersite.nl/ext/grid_bug.png


I have to admit I don't know since which rev I have this problem, I develop in firefox and from time to time check in ie..

EDIT:

I have this doctype:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">


Without the doctype the paging buttons display correct (but my own layout is messed up).

js1234224
22 Feb 2007, 5:28 AM
This is fixed in the latest Rev. It still isn't perfect for all buttons, and I will continue to try to find a more reliable workaround.

IE7 in strict mode is full of bugs that are difficult to work around. I hope the IE team addresses some of them soon.

Thanks Jack! - I think I can workaround the doctype issue with the following css:

.x-btn-text { padding-left: 8px; }

This allows me to continue using the strict doctype for the moment without the button text being truncated.