PDA

View Full Version : Reusable Components

Peter Tierney
14 Jan 2013, 7:55 AM
I am attempting to get ExtJs to use a component multiple times and they not affect each other. I've attached a simple project where two panels are derived from the same object/class and exhibit unexpected behavior. I have a single controller which should only be responding to one of the panels, but appears to be responding to both.

I am fairly new to ExtJs and am still learning how to get it to do more complex apps. I may just not understand how ExtJs does this kind of thing or may have missed a simple parameter. Yes I've read the not helpful documentation, so if your answer is ntfm, then don't bother answering.

Past this problem, there seems to be a conceptual issue I have with what I understand right now. Even if you do create a class and can reuse it, you have to create a controller for each instance of the component. So you get the reusability of view code but not the controller code. This makes maintenance more of a hassle as I would think creating a component would mean it's able to run it's own code separate from other instances without replicating the controller code. This might be a simple misunderstanding of how ExtJs does things so please feel free to enlighten me.

Regards

existdissolve
14 Jan 2013, 10:02 AM
Can you expand upon exactly what it is that you expect to happen and precisely what it is that is happening unexpectedly?

Peter Tierney
14 Jan 2013, 12:18 PM
It's a simple example where combo box populates a text field inside a panel. The containing panel is the class/component I've tried to reuse. When the second panel, containing a second combo box is selected, it fills the first panel's text field. The second panel has no controller listening for it's events so I would expect it to do nothing. I also would expect that I would need a second controller to handle the second instance of the panel.