PDA

View Full Version : Authentication with sencha extjs

Alex2013
13 Feb 2013, 6:29 AM
I want to have a secure authentication mechanism in my sencha extjs app. I have a form with a username and password. I need to have some way of authenticating the user (without sending the password over the internet). What would be a good authentication mechanism to go for in sencha?

scottmartin
13 Feb 2013, 3:25 PM
Can you be more specific? do you want something like this?
http://www.wikidsystems.com/

This all depends on your requirements. This should be done at the server level anyway.

Scott.

mice-pace
13 Feb 2013, 5:21 PM
You don't neccesarily need to be worried about sending the password over the internet if you do it right...I'm no expert, but I studied cryptography briefly at University

Just as a rough example (not sure how secure this is now) an old system i was working on had the passwords on the database transformed by MD5 (a one way transform), then when you submitted your password it was transformed the same way before being sent... this means that even if you intercept the message you don't know the original. This technique is still possibly vulnerable to replay (With packet sniffers intercept a valid login, collect the details then send it on, next time you try to login intercept that request and replace it with a valid login attempt) and MD5 is no longer considered secure, but you have options, for instance...