PDA

View Full Version : Best practices for accessing stores in and out of parent scope

Csegota
18 Jun 2013, 10:32 AM
I am a bit confused as to the best way to implement stores utilizing their getter functions.

One thing I am wondering is what I really gain from adding/loading stores through the use of a stores:[] config in a controller. I understand that it auto generates useful getter methods, but I find myself having to use Ext.create methods, in order to set the store id, in order to reference the store using Ext.getStore('storeId') whenever I go out of scope. And if you use an Ext.create method you dont need to load the store in the store config, because it does all that for you again when you Ext.create it. Leaving me to wonder if I am missing some extra functionality that is provided to loading stores through store configs.

I've been working with Ext JS 4 full time for two months now, and here is what I know about stores and how to access them.

If you place a store within the stores:[] config of a controller. It will auto generate a getter method for you in the form this.getStoreName() (as long as you are in scope)

If you have an 'id' config in your store, you can access you store using Ext.getStore('id') by passing in the stores 'id'. But here is the catch with that one. In order to use that accessor method, you must first have used an Ext.create('myStore') somewhere in your code, I read in a comment somewhere that this is because the id's are set when you use an Ext.create, which seems consistent to me.

So now we have two ways to skin the cat.

Lets say I have some Panel that I am going to load a grid into that requires a store. This panel is already created and is nothing special but a container that I display and remove my content from. So to add my grid I'm going to do it as follows:

//This code is within my controller, because that is where logic should be placed as far as I know.