PDA

View Full Version : ComboBox getValue problem on Enter key press

aluxner
12 Sep 2013, 4:31 PM
There seems to a be a bug in the combo box behavior when the user types in the combo box and presses the keyboard Enter key. I didn't post this in the bugs forum because I'm new to Ext JS and thought there might be a work-around that someone could share. The goal is to programmatically have the Enter key press have the same behavior as when the user clicks the Save button using the mouse. In this example the event handler on the Enter button indeed causes the ComboBox’s blur event to trigger (the blur event handler will print out a message verifying this), the focus moves to the button, and the button is programmatically clicked, causing the reportForm function to execute. So I am able to programmatically click the Save button.

The problem is that the value that the user has typed is not set in the combo box and is not retrieved via the getValue method until after the user has changed focus. The function's output will confirm this. This is not acceptable because the form values are required at the enter-key press, as the form is about to submit. Here is a test case to demonstrate, followed by the code needed to run the test:

Test of Ext JS 3.4 combobox behavior

Setup

From a clean form (refresh browser if necessary) type a value in the text field (the 2nd form field). Then type a vlaue in the combo box. Do not tab out of the combo box. Leave the cursor there.
Scenario 1

Follow Setup step above. Then use your mouse to click the Save button. A javascript function assigned to the button prints the "raw" value of the combo box (combobox.getRawValue()), the value of the combo box (combobox.getValue()) and the value of the text field. Note that the values print out as expected and the raw and regular combo box values match.
Scenario 2