PDA

View Full Version : [FIXED] Fork Your Own Fiddles



existdissolve
27 Sep 2013, 12:34 PM
I think it would be nice to be able to fork your own fiddles. I have a few fairly complex fiddles that have a number of extra resources attached to them. I would like to use some of them as templates for new fiddles, but don't see a way currently to use an existing fiddle as a starting place for another.

Misiu
14 Oct 2013, 3:57 AM
+1 on that :)

mitchellsimoens
14 Oct 2013, 8:19 AM
We have a story about it. First step is to get forking back to working which we are trying to stabilize some things, work through some stories to get to GA. The forking is broken but the server isn't throwing any errors so debugging is incredibly hard especially when a build takes 10 minutes to complete after seeing the changes on github. Not my favorite way to debug at all but such is life.

existdissolve
14 Oct 2013, 8:27 AM
Ugh, no fun. I've had some projects like that before... :)

mitchellsimoens
24 Oct 2013, 2:15 PM
Ok, so I made a change and I am able to fork fiddles but I can't believe the fix really fixed it but it's fixed for me :) Let me know if it's working for you or a link to a fiddle that you cannot fork. Also, you should be able to fork your own fiddles.

existdissolve
24 Oct 2013, 3:29 PM
Hey Mitchell--

Sweet, looks like it mostly fixed it. The only issue I noticed is that when I try to fork a fiddle with the "letter" naming convention (ex: https://fiddle.sencha.com/#fiddle/ac), the interface doesn't respond with a success. It does *actually* fork it, but just spins and spins forever.

Forking one of the "numbered" fiddles seemed to work correctly...no infinite spinning or anything like that.

Thanks a bunch for this fix...it will be an extremely useful feature.

mitchellsimoens
25 Oct 2013, 6:35 AM
Just made a small change and I am able to fork you ac fiddle. Have the assets and mock data also