PDA

View Full Version : Theme changing without having to alter code



Remy
24 Feb 2014, 6:12 AM
Ok, I have some pre-existing code using 4.2.1 using the native gray theme. I wanted to check out the Neptune theme to see how it looked. It looks great but some of my components (window etc.,) require height and width to be defined as part of the layout which messes up when switching themes due to the different font size and border config associated with the theme.

Anyone else have this issue with components requiring height/width and any suggestions on how to cater for this without having to revisit code?

I'm not looking to provide dynamic theme selection, just want code that I can swap themes without having to rewrite component config.

scottmartin
24 Feb 2014, 6:53 AM
Neptune theme does have a larger bold theme. If you generated the theme you can change the base them var to be the same as classic to see what it would look like

./my-theme/sass/var/Component.scsss



// copied from classic
$font-family: helvetica, arial, verdana, sans-serif !default;
$font-size: 12px !default;


You will have to rebuild if you generated your custom theme to see change.

Remy
24 Feb 2014, 7:28 AM
Thanks Scott, will give that a go, I happen to like the old themes as there's little wasted space which in a busy application is often at a premium.