PDA

View Full Version : Hiding Buttons for Print Not Working in Firefox

natebalcom
31 Mar 2014, 6:00 AM
I'd like to start off by saying that I'm pretty new to working with Ext.js. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I'm having issues hiding buttons for a printable version of my page. I think the problem lies with the "setVisibilityMode" option which I've been toying around with, but have had no luck as of yet getting to work. At any rate, I'm trying to remove a series of buttons at the top of the page by changing their visible states. It works in all other browsers, but not Firefox.

Well initially it doesn't, but when the page is reloaded the styles are stripped out and it works fine. The print buttons pops up a box in an iframe in a zindex that floats over the page. This is what I suspect is throwing things off. Any ideas ext people?

Farish
31 Mar 2014, 9:15 AM
a better way to do this is with css media print. look it up. you can create a class for print media in which you set display to none. then add this class to extjs components which you dont want to be printed using cls config.

this way, you are not modifying the components (changing their visibility dynamically)

Farish
31 Mar 2014, 9:23 AM
Here's an example. you can include the css in your HTML page:

<style type="text/css" media="print">
.noPrint {
display: none !important;
}
</style>

then in your JS:

Ext.create('Ext.button.Button', {
text: 'Test',
renderTo: Ext.getBody(),
cls: 'noPrint'
});

natebalcom
31 Mar 2014, 11:24 AM
I must not be implementing this correctly. It either breaks the page or nothing happens at all depending on placement. I added the styles to my page and the other piece in js.

Farish
31 Mar 2014, 11:46 AM
can you post your code? that would help others see where the problem might be. create a simple example with just this style and one button.

natebalcom
31 Mar 2014, 11:54 AM