PDA

View Full Version : Loading JSON data into a form in ExtJS 4.x

bmt22033
1 May 2014, 7:14 AM
I'm new to ExtJS and I'm trying to build a "user management" application. My view looks similar to this:
http://i.stack.imgur.com/Df7MN.png

As you can see, I have a combobox at the top of my view which contains a list of usernames. This combobox is populated from a store (which uses a very simple model). The store uses an ajax proxy to retrieve a list of all the existing usernames from the server. When my user chooses a username from the combobox, I want to retrieve the user account information for the selected username from my server and display that info in the "Account information" form which appears directly below my combobox.
Here are the model and store for my combobox:

Ext.define('UserMgmt.model.Username', { extend: 'Ext.data.Model', requires: [ 'Ext.data.Field' ], fields: [ { name: 'id' }, { name: 'name' } ]});

Ext.define('UserMgmt.store.Usernames', { extend: 'Ext.data.Store', requires: [ 'UserMgmt.model.Username', 'Ext.data.proxy.Ajax', 'Ext.data.reader.Json', 'Ext.util.Sorter' ], constructor: function(cfg) { var me = this; cfg = cfg || {}; me.callParent([Ext.apply({ autoLoad: true, model: 'UserMgmt.model.Username', storeId: 'Usernames', proxy: { type: 'ajax', url: '/api/users', reader: { type: 'json' } }, sortOnLoad: true, sorters: { property: 'name', direction: 'ASC' } }, cfg)]); }});

As you can see, my combobox store retrieves the full list of usernames (via its ajax proxy) from the URL /api/users. When my user selects a username from the combobox, I need to retrieve the account information for the selected user and populate my form fields with it. If, for example, my user were to choose a username of "jsmith" in the combobox, then the URL to retrieve the account info for "jsmith" would be /api/users/jsmith.