PDA

View Full Version : XML Forms from Schema?

hart
7 Mar 2008, 5:13 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Ext JS and I must say I'm very impressed with the look and feel of the output. I stumbled across Ext JS while looking for a solution to a fairly simple problem that is seemingly more difficult than I imagine it should be :)

I've spent the evening browsing and searching the forums and reading a lot of the tutorials and examples on the site without much success - so I thought I'd throw it out there.

I want to create a simple UI to add, edit, remove XML objects based on an XML Schema. Ie: every time I decide to add another element to the structure, I don't want to have to re-write the UI.

I have a fairly simple XML document structure:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<config>
<name>example</name>
<domain>example.domain</domain>
<server>
<fqdn>mail.domain</fqdn>
<ip>192.168.1.1</ip>
<type>mail</type>
</server>
<server>
<fqdn>web.domain</fqdn>
<ip>192.168.1.2</ip>
<type>web</type>
</server>
<database>
<fqdn>db1.domain</fqdn>
<ip>192.168.1.3</ip>
</database>
</config>

With a corresponding XML Schema:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<xs:schema xmlns:xs="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema" attributeFormDefault="unqualified" elementFormDefault="qualified">
<xs:element name="config">
<xs:complexType>
<xs:sequence>
<xs:element minOccurs="1" maxOccurs="1" name="name" type="xs:string"/>
<xs:element minOccurs="1" maxOccurs="1" name="domain" type="xs:string"/>
<xs:element minOccurs="2" maxOccurs="unbounded" name="server">
<xs:element minOccurs="1" maxOccurs="1" name="fqdn" type="xs:string"/>
<xs:element minOccurs="1" maxOccurs="1" name="ip" type="xs:string"/>
<xs:element minOccurs="1" maxOccurs="1" name="type">
<xs:simpleType>
<xs:restriction base="xs:string">
<xs:enumeration value="mail"/>
<xs:enumeration value="web"/>
</xs:restriction>
</xs:simpleType>
</xs:element>
</xs:sequence>
</xs:complexType>
<xs:element minOccurs="0" maxOccurs="unbounded" name="database">