PDA

View Full Version : filling grid / tree with selfmade functions

q_no
29 Mar 2007, 4:05 AM
Hi all,

I'm new to yui-ext and wondering how to set up own functions that for example fill a grid with new data. I've seen the examples with "new Ext.data.ScriptTagProxy" as proxy, but I haven't found any informations on how to set up a "custom proxy".

My goal is to combine yui-ext with the xajax framework and my idea is to make a JS function that calls xajax on serverside and returns an Array/Object to another function that fills my grid.
The way the examples work with one php script that returns JSON data are pretty simple, but not very usefull for my purposes.

Can anyone paste some lines of code to show how is could be done? The first steps are always the most diffecult ones ;)

Animal
29 Mar 2007, 6:07 AM
You'll be wantnig an HttpProxy to pull data in from a remote server.

If the data returned from the server is in a strange format, then you might want a custom reader, but if it's just an javascript Array that you've encoded on the server in javascript object notation, then an ArrayReader will do.

See the examples and the Wiki for more guidance.

q_no
29 Mar 2007, 6:45 AM
Thanks, that's what I already suppossed.... but, maybe I am totally blind - where can I find an example that shows how to write a new Proxy?

q_no
29 Mar 2007, 10:10 AM
ok, I found an example in another thread that gave me a little advise how to set up a proxy

here is my progress so far

Ext.data.XajaxProxy = function(xajax_function){
Ext.data.XajaxProxy.superclass.constructor.call(this);
};

Ext.extend(Ext.data.XajaxProxy, Ext.data.DataProxy, {

load : function(params, reader, callback, scope, arg){

if(this.fireEvent("beforeload", this, params) !== false){
var response = xajax.call('testfunction', {parameters:[params],mode:'synchronous'});
callback.call(scope, response, arg, true);
}else{
callback.call(scope||this, null, arg, false);
}
},

update : function(dataSet){

},