PDA

View Full Version : problem accessing FX, using prototype



dantheman
19 Apr 2007, 3:09 PM
Don't know what's up here, but I was successfully
using Ext over prototype in alpha3, but can't get
it going in 1.0 . . .

Following instructions in the INCLUDE_ORDER.txt, even the examples are broken.

I include, in this order:


<script type="text/javascript" src="../../prototype.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="../../scriptaculous.js?load=effects"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="../../adapter/prototype/ext-prototype-adapter.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="../../ext-all.js"></script>

The error: "Effect is undefined"
Where: the msg-box.html example.

I downloaded via the direct link, not the sticky msg...
(my zipball did not have prototype or scriptaculous, but I just
copied them from the (working) alpha3 examples, so they are 1.5/1.7)

any pointer appreciated,
--dan

amon
19 Apr 2007, 11:31 PM
Is there the effects.js on the '../../' URL?
Next to the scriptaculous.js?

The scriptaculous just create a '<script type="text/javascript" src="<URL>"></script>' tag with document.write(); method.
The URL will be the same as itself scriptaculous.js.

If you loadf scriptaculous.js with (for example) http://www.domain.com/js/scriptaculous.js, then that will create a '<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.domain.com/js/effects.js"></script>' tag.

If these files are on the correct place:
Could you write an URL to your live testing demo?

dantheman
20 Apr 2007, 5:16 AM
It was a late night (:| , and the various scriptaculous files were
not in the same dir as scriptaculous itself. :"> D'oh!

I actually found this late last night, but I've just got in this AM.

Many thanks for the help, tho! The community around Ext is tremendous.
I look forward to helping out once I've got a bit more under my belt.

--dan