PDA

View Full Version : Tree, TreeLoader and asp.net

soulman
21 May 2007, 5:26 AM
I am new to Ext so sorry in advance for this question...
I try to use ext tree and asp.net together. I checked examples and all of them use treeloader class. In reorder example code looks like this:

var tree = new Tree.TreePanel('tree-div', {
animate:true,
loader: new Tree.TreeLoader({dataUrl:'get-nodes.php'}),
enableDD:true,
containerScroll: true
});

Is it possible to set dataUrl to aspx page and what should be on that page? Is it possible to call web service?? How can I get it work??

garyrgi
21 May 2007, 7:53 AM
You can pretty much use any language to get your tree data back. You just have to make sure that the format of your returned data is json. You can use a webservice but make sure that it doesn't wrap your response with extra stuff or it won't work (at least it didn't work when my response came back in a wddx packet but that may have just been me).

First thing I would do is have an aspx page simply output.

[{"text":"my tree item","id:"1",isLeaf:true},{"text":"my tree item 2","id:"2",isLeaf:true},{"text":"my tree item 3","id:"3",isLeaf:true}]

Then point your dataUrl to your aspx page and give it a shot.

Then create a webservice and simply output the static menu code above, call it via a browser and see what is returned..

Gary

macm
22 May 2007, 8:31 PM
I am having a heck of a time loading a treepanel with asp.net I am getting closer.. I think.

Are there any complete examples available?

I have no problem building the JSON string, but I can not find a way to call the ajaxpro method in the dataUrl parameter. here is my aspx code..

public class MyClass
{

[AjaxPro.AjaxMethod()]
public string GetNodes()
{

return "[{\"text\":\"my tree item\",\"id:\"1\",isLeaf:true},{\"text\":\"my tree item 2\",\"id:\"2\",isLeaf:true},{\"text\":\"my tree item 3\",\"id:\"3\",isLeaf:true}]";
}
}

On server side page_load() I call...