PDA

View Full Version : EXTJS TREE and Coldfusion tutorial

Limey
11 May 2009, 5:58 AM
Hello All,

I have a project at work where I have been asked to do a drag and drop tree. I am new to EXT, and I am quite impressed by what it can do, however, I'm really having trouble getting started.

Are their any good tutorials out there for using EXTJS with Coldfusion? Anything to do with dynamically loading the data would be great! I have been searching since last week, and I can't seem to find anything that will show me the basics of the data load.

Thanks

aconran
11 May 2009, 6:50 AM
Hey Limey -

Fortunately, Ext is server-side agnostic and capable of working in any server-side environment which is capable of producing JSON. If you are using CF 8 then you can use the SerializeJSON (http://livedocs.adobe.com/coldfusion/8/functions_s_03.html) function to serialize your arrays and structures into JSON.

Setup an Ext.tree.TreePanel with an appropriate Ext.tree.TreeLoader. The TreeLoader will point to a particular URL and post the root tree node's ID in the form scope. You will then create an array of structures which each have text and id. Take a look at the top of the TreeLoader (http://extjs.com/deploy/dev/docs/?class=Ext.tree.TreeLoader) docs to see the output you should be generating. Each time that you expand another tree node it will post the id of the tree node you are expanding in the form.node scope.

Limey
11 May 2009, 7:24 AM
Ok, so maybe then I'm looking for two different tutorials. One tutorial on how to use the tree object and one on using json for that tree (and maybe dynamic data loading). I use CF7 and so there is no built in support for JSON, plus, I need help in the description of the extra attribute tags that get included (since i'm going to have to write the JSON files manually.

aconran
11 May 2009, 7:41 AM