View Full Version : JSON DataModel Schema Question

20 Nov 2006, 4:35 PM
I am attempting to setup a JSON DataModel for use with a Grid. The server code is returning a collection of objects with plain vanilla JSON encoding, as such:

[{property: value, property: value},
{property: value, property: value},
{property: value, property: value}]

I don't really have a "root" as pointed out in the comments section of the JSONDataModel.js source file. I'm not sure if that's why I am not seeing anything or not. Is "root" required for the schema definition?

20 Nov 2006, 4:57 PM
Yes - in the latest codebase it throws up an alert box error for this if you omit the 'root' tag from shema object. If you don't wrap your arry of items with a root property you get an empty grid div.

I don't think it's even valid JSON if you don't give the array a name

20 Nov 2006, 5:05 PM
Yeah, and I don't think JSON data should even start with an array (i.e. '[').

If you can change your server JSON output, this would be the ideal data format I think:

{ "rootobject": [
{ "property1":"value1-1", "property2":"value2-1" },
{ "property1":"value1-2", "property2":"value2-2" }
] }

Also see this thread for some related information:

21 Nov 2006, 3:31 AM
That's invalid json. There's a thread with a very simple workaround in the help forum.

23 Nov 2006, 6:48 AM
It works now! :D