PDA

View Full Version : How to GET from and POST data to an XML-RPC Server using extjs?

Exceeder
9 Jul 2009, 4:48 AM
Hi,

I'm new to extjs. I spend 2 work days figuring out how extjs can interact with a standard xml-rpc server. I have a full working application server and a functioning native windows application which makes use of it. Now I want to write some of the native windows client parts using html and extjs. The html pages and all javascript code is served by my XML-RPC Server in another url handler, so I'll not need any proxy for my Ajax commands.

The problem I have is the high abstraction that's used by extjs. You define a data store, call a url and put the result inside a combobox for example (You can see this here: http://extjs.com/deploy/dev/examples/form/forum-search.html). The problem for me is, that I want to call an url with an correct XML-RPC Request and want to get a correct XML-RPC Response, which have to be parsed in some way by extjs.

A second thing is the authentication method the XML-RPC Server is using: It uses HTTP Basic authentication and SSL encryption. I don't know, how I can tell extjs to make this authentication for me.

The examples I found that are getting data just making a HTTP GET with some URL parameters, but that's not what I want.

Can you please help me and give me an example? Is there any extension needed for extjs to get this working? I'm using the brand new extjs 3.0.

Exceeder

Exceeder
9 Jul 2009, 10:32 AM
Hi again,

does nobody know something about this?

Exceeder

tryanDLS
9 Jul 2009, 11:10 AM
Please don't bump your thread hours after posting. Someone may answer if they understand what you're asking for.

Have you looked at just using Ext.Connection to make your requests without putting data into a store?

mjlecomte
9 Jul 2009, 11:54 AM
Hi.

Have you had a look at any of the direct examples yet? IIRC most of the Direct examples use JSON at the moment.