PDA

View Full Version : Window width as a percentage

JoeStar
9 Jul 2009, 10:36 PM
Hi All,
I am new to ExtJS so this may be a simple question but I struggled to find the solution in the API.

I want to be able to set the height/width of a window as a percentage. Is this possible?

JoeStar
12 Jul 2009, 7:58 PM
Does anybody know how to do this? I thought that this would be pretty straight forward...

Animal
12 Jul 2009, 9:33 PM
The two values you need are

Ext.lib.Dom.getViewportHeight()

Ext.lib.Dom.getViewportWidth()

IMHO, the adapter layer should either be documented, or have some of its facilities published in the Ext public interface.

JoeStar
12 Jul 2009, 10:36 PM
Thanks for the reply.

Can I clarify your solution, please forgive my ignorance but I am new to ExtJS.

I can not find this documented in the API: Ext.lib.Dom.getViewportHeight().

I assume that this is a static function that gets the current offsetHeight of the window, as in the current height of the existing veiwPort that my window is a child of. Is that correct?

If this is the case then I guess I will need to set my window to resize on a window resize event, is this correct?

Thanks in advance.

Condor
12 Jul 2009, 10:40 PM
IMHO, the adapter layer should either be documented, or have some of its facilities published in the Ext public interface.

Ext.getBody().getViewSize() will return the same two values.

Condor
12 Jul 2009, 10:43 PM
If this is the case then I guess I will need to set my window to resize on a window resize event, is this correct?

You can register a listener with Ext.EventManager.onWindowResize. The callback function gets the current viewport width and height as parameters.

JoeStar
12 Jul 2009, 10:52 PM
Ok cool, thanks for the advice.

So you can't use a percentage but instead:

task 1: get the current window height/width, construct the window height/width off of this.
task 2: Attach a resize event handler to perform task 1 on resize.

That is easier enough.