PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] 'isColumn' is null or not an object in IE7 and IE8



bramvano
15 Jul 2009, 3:52 AM
Ext version tested:
Ext 3.0.0

Adapter used:
ext
Browser versions tested against:

IE7
IE8


FF3 (firebug 1.3.0.10 installed)

Operating System:
Kubuntu Linux 9.04


WinXP Pro

Description:

I'm writing an app using a GridPanel and the RowExpander plugin.

All is well in FF3, but in IE7 and IE8 I get an error.
I find it had to determine what part of the code is responsible for the error in IE.
Maybe someone can hint me in the right direction?

The IE error is:

Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729)
Timestamp: Wed, 15 Jul 2009 11:49:03 UTC


Message: 'isColumn' is null or not an object
Line: 11
Char: 151700
Code: 0
URI: http://192.168.0.49/iosweb2/javascript/extjs3/ext-all.js


The result that was expected:
Application should load in IE7 and IE8
The result that occurs instead:
Page loads fine in FF3 but stays blank in IE7 and IE8, while returning the above Javascript error

Animal
15 Jul 2009, 4:07 AM
Use ext-all-debug.js

Use the IE8 Developer Tools. Break on the error, see what's happening.

mjlecomte
15 Jul 2009, 4:22 AM
moving this to help

bramvano
15 Jul 2009, 11:48 PM
Use ext-all-debug.js

Use the IE8 Developer Tools. Break on the error, see what's happening.

Using ext-all-debug.js and the IE8 Developer tool (added the breakpoint) I know nothing more then I already knew I'm afraid. Th error occurs in the ExtJs script. And only in IE, so it's kind of hard to debug....
Because the line number is different because of using the debug script, I'll post the error again.


'isColumn' is null or not an object ext-all-debug.js, line 62689 character 13

gtegos
16 Jul 2009, 5:20 AM
I had the same problem today. Check your column definition array and see if you have a , after the last item in the array. It comes out that the Javascript interpreter in IE will interpret the array as having 1 item more than the correct one.

The following Javascript code will output 2 in IE and 1 in Firefox:

var test = ["item",];
alert (test.length);

bramvano
17 Jul 2009, 12:19 AM
That's it! Thanks a lot. It's easy to forget to remove a comma here and there :)

ruchni1
1 Dec 2009, 5:30 AM
Thank you very much - it just didn't want to work with ie6. Until I read this thread.

stolb
12 Dec 2009, 11:13 AM
Thanks, gtegos, your answer helps me to solve the same problem in IE6.

bosuanzi
23 Feb 2010, 10:43 PM
:) Yes, I think that gtegos is right!
I have found the same questions, thank you

desarrollosur
15 Jun 2010, 4:52 AM
Thanks veryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy much "gtegos"
your help is very apreciate here!!! Im looking for this solutions about two weeks :D.
Good luck friend... from Argentina!!! :D

sam.arulprakash
22 Jun 2010, 10:35 PM
I had the same problem today. Check your column definition array and see if you have a , after the last item in the array. It comes out that the Javascript interpreter in IE will interpret the array as having 1 item more than the correct one.

The following Javascript code will output 2 in IE and 1 in Firefox:

var test = ["item",];
alert (test.length);


Thanks a lot man, it helps me to fix a problem.

hzane
2 May 2011, 11:15 AM
Thank you - this helped me greatly.

IE is such a OCD little bugger.