PDA

View Full Version : [CLOSED][3.0.0] Error appears in Firebug: Node was not found" code: "8



staskorz
15 Jul 2009, 5:03 AM
Ext version tested:

* Ext 3.0.0




Adapter used:

* ext




Browser versions tested against:

* FF3.5 (firebug 1.4.0b7 installed)




Operating System:

* Vista Business 64bit SP1




Description:

* As of ExtJS 3.0.0 RC3 (the same is true for the final release),
an error saying 'Node was not found" code: "8' appears in Firebug
every time an ExtJS app is started (reproducible with ExtJS docs, as well as with any other ExtJS application I've tried with)

* See screenshot http://extjs.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=15017&stc=1&d=1247662829

* This error did not appear in ExtJS 3.0.0 RC2




Test Case:



Just open ExtJS 3.0.0 docs to see the issue



See this URL : http://





Steps to reproduce the problem:

* Start Firefox 3.5 with Firebug 1.4.0b7
* Open ExtJS docs




The result that was expected:

* No errors should appear in Firebug

* See screenshot http://extjs.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=15018&stc=1&d=1247662829



The result that occurs instead:

* The following error appears in Firebug: Node was not found" code: "8





Screenshot or Video:

* attached




Debugging already done:

* none




Possible fix:

* not provided

mystix
15 Jul 2009, 5:51 AM
I cannot reproduce this on FF3.5 + FB1.4.0b8 with the 3.0.0 docs at the following URL:
http://extjs.com/docs

i'm running OSX 10.5.7.

staskorz
15 Jul 2009, 6:01 AM
Just tried with http://extjs.com/deploy/dev/docs/ (http://extjs.com/forum/../deploy/dev/docs/) and the issue still appears.

Try the following:

* Open this page: http://extjs.com/deploy/dev/docs/ (http://extjs.com/forum/../deploy/dev/docs/)
* Make sure Firebug is open
* Refresh the page

mystix
15 Jul 2009, 6:07 AM
i just tried 5 times with the setup i posted above just to make sure.
no errors.

Condor
15 Jul 2009, 6:26 AM
Did you clear your browser cache? Maybe you are working with html, js and css files that don't have the same version.

staskorz
15 Jul 2009, 6:37 AM
Yes, and retried right now to clear it again and the issue still exists.

Condor
15 Jul 2009, 6:41 AM
- Do you have any other plugins installed?
- Which options are enabled in the console menu?
- Not seeing this (but I'm using FB 1.5X.0a14).

mystix
15 Jul 2009, 6:43 AM
just upgraded to Firebug 1.4.0b10.
tried it 5 times again after emptying my cache.

still no errors.

mystix
15 Jul 2009, 6:47 AM
i recommend upgrading to Firebug 1.4.0b8+.

try that.

staskorz
15 Jul 2009, 8:27 AM
Hi Guys,

First of all thank you all very much for your help!

Following mystix' advice, I've first upgraded Firebug to 1.4.0b9, which didn't help. Then, I've recalled Condor's post asking about the Firefox extensions in use. I've started disabling the extensions one by one, and the so the problematic one was discovered: Flashblock 1.5.11.2.

To workaround the issue without disabling this extension, just add the domain in question to Flashblock's whitelist.

The strange thing is that the issue doesn't happen with ExjJS 2.2.1 or ExtJS 3.0.0 RC2 - it only happens with ExtJS 3.0.0 RC3 and 3.0.0 final.

Anyway, I've submitted a bugreport on mozdev for the Flashblock extension (bug #21243 https://www.mozdev.org/bugs/show_bug.cgi?id=21243).

That said, I'm not sure it's a Flashblock bug as the issue doesn't happen with ExtJS 3.0.0 RC2 - please advice.

Thanks again for your help!

mystix
15 Jul 2009, 8:32 AM
i say ditch flashblock and use adblock plus instead:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1865

it's got a built-in, self-updating black-list, blocks stuff like flash and java, works with Firebug, and most importantly, it doesn't mess with my scripts. :)

mjlecomte
16 Jul 2009, 12:10 PM
No Ext JS bug here, marking this as CLOSED

staskorz
17 Jul 2009, 4:10 AM
If it's not a bug, how come it doesn't happen with ExtJS 3.0 RC2?

Condor
17 Jul 2009, 5:01 AM
The Ext 3.0 RC2 API docs page still used a copy of the Ext 2.2 libarary.

The Ext 3.0 RC3 and up API docs page uses it's own (debug version of the) Ext 3.0 library, which contains the swfobject script (which probably causes this problem).

mystix
17 Jul 2009, 6:13 AM
The Ext 3.0 RC2 API docs page still used a copy of the Ext 2.2 libarary.

The Ext 3.0 RC3 and up API docs page uses it's own (debug version of the) Ext 3.0 library, which contains the swfobject script (which probably causes this problem).

you're good.... =D>

mjlecomte
17 Jul 2009, 6:36 AM
If it's not a bug, how come it doesn't happen with ExtJS 3.0 RC2?

2 others and myself were unable to reproduce the bug using Ext 3.0.0 without any offending plugins. So I still don't see a bug here.

JeffHowden
2 Dec 2009, 12:00 PM
The Ext 3.0 RC2 API docs page still used a copy of the Ext 2.2 libarary.

The Ext 3.0 RC3 and up API docs page uses it's own (debug version of the) Ext 3.0 library, which contains the swfobject script (which probably causes this problem).

If you aren't using flashblock, but using mediawrapper instead, the problem is exhibited there as well, perhaps because both plugins try to circumvent aspects of flash embedding to support their functionality in a way that breaks the swfobject script.

badallen
18 Dec 2009, 11:04 AM
My company is experiencing the same thing, can we reopen this case? Here is what we have encountered:

We started receiving this error when we upgraded our entire site with Ext 3.0.3 build, then immediately tickets are flying in from people who have both "Greasemonkey" and "Flashblock" add-ons installed.

Anyhow.. the quick question is: with a quick search, there is some code in ext-all.js that deals with Flash (i.e. swfobject). Instead of my team cleaning out or overwrite all the code that has to do with Flash, is there a possibility that Ext will release a version that's "Flash-Free" since there are so many companies block their workstations to Flash content.

Additionally, most of the "Node was not found" errors occur at line 11 of the ext-all.js. From a brief look, line 11 has to do with the swfobject. Since we are not using Ext chart, we are mostly using the basic Ext 2.2 controls like buttons, trigger fields, templates..., etc., can we remove line 11 all together? Will any other "non-Flashy" ext component break because of the removal?

Thanks.