PDA

View Full Version : Simple ASPX sample

alicia.marinache
30 Jul 2009, 7:08 AM
Hi all,

I am quite new to ExtJS and I need to help a co-worker with something related.
I'd like to mention from start that I didn't spend a lot of time going through all samples and demos - I googled a few of my questions and I haven't found the answer yet.

This being said - I am in dire need of an extremly simple example of how to consume data from ASP.Net. I have a simple Aspx page returning an Xml, I even tried to return a Json data structure - using Jayrock. Needless to say, my problem is on the ExtJS side.

I am not quite sure how to read the data, and I would need a complete example I could start with.

I have added bellow my ASPX page. I know there are better way to use it and I am actually willing (and more inclined) to try a WebService (WebMethods) rather than the Serializing the data accross. If someone has a complete sample using web services I would love to see it as well.

Thank you in advance for all your help!

Alicia

----------------------------

-- Person class -------------

public class Person
{
// simplified version
public Guid Id;
public string FirstName;
public string LastName;

public Person(Guid id, string firstName, stringLastName)
{
Id = id;
FirstName = firstName;
LastName = lastName;
}
}

-- ASPX page --------------

protectedvoid Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
string sXml = "<Data Id=\"2160c605-2a58-45e6-a786-2b503e9e00d0\" FirstName=\"John\" LastName=\"Doe\" />";
string type = Request["type"];
if (type != null)
{
type = type.ToLower();
if (type == "xml")
{
Response.ContentType = "text/javascript";
Response.Write(sXml);
Response.End();
}
elseif (type == "json")
{
Response.ContentType = "application/x-json";
Person person = new Person(new Guid("2160c605-2a58-45e6-a786-2b503e9e00d0"), "John", "Doe");
Response.Write(Jayrock.Json.Conversion.JsonConvert.ExportToString(person));
Response.End();
}
}
}

evant
30 Jul 2009, 7:19 AM