PDA

View Full Version : Newbie problem with button onClick

TheBerliner
10 Aug 2009, 2:57 AM
Hello,

I am new to EXT JS and also to JavaScript and I'm having problems with the very simple task of equipping a button with an onClick action.

I have looked at all the examples and tried all variants over the past six hours, but still EXT refuses to generate any onClick action. In most of the examples, the onClick function is directly added to the handler: in the button declaration. Since I'm having the same function being called by many buttons, this wouldn't be a viable solution.

My goal is to have an existing function clickAction(widgetName,value) being called when the button is pressed. Very simple but still unclear (from the very sparse documentation).

Here is my button declaration (I apologize for the not indented code but this editor refused any indentation or adding blanks and offers no tabs and I found no other way of presenting it nicer):

var buttonPorECToolsHand = new Ext.Button({ id: 'buttonPorECToolsHand',
iconAlign: 'top',

clickEvent: 'ecBrowToolHand', // unclear what this is for (bad & minimal documentation)
// I also tried 'click' here with the same result
scale: 'medium',
icon: 'picECToolsHand.gif',
pressed: 'true',
xtype: 'button',
handler: clickAction, //here I tried all variants that are used in the examples - no chance!
iconCls: 'buttonPorECToolsHand',
cls: 'buttonPorECToolsHand'
});

The function, which is supposed to be called, looks like this (reduced code, irrelevant parts left out):

function clickAction(widgetName,value){

storeActualTabInfo();
if(clickActionsNum>=omitedClickActions){

if(widgetName == "ecBrowToolPrevious") prevPage(); else
if(widgetName == "ecBrowToolHand") clickHand();else
//Irrelevant parts left out
}
}

This function is not the problem. Execution never gets there. And it works in an older prototype, which was developed without EXT.

This is the related extract from the CSS file:

.buttonPorECToolsHand{