PDA

View Full Version : How to send data from ExtJS to CGI?

Sigma
13 Aug 2009, 1:23 PM
Hi there,

Sorry for being such a noob, I just have no idea how to do this. I have a button and a textarea in a FormPanel, and I want the button to trigger the textarea value to be sent to a cgi script. I know how to do this in plain html:
<form action="cgi path" method="POST"> ... But I have no idea how to do this with ExtJS. Is there a page or something describing how to do this? (I couldn't find anything in the tutorials section). Thank you so much.

(again sorry for being a newb, im very new to extjs and web development in general)

Animal
13 Aug 2009, 1:29 PM
http://extjs.com/deploy/dev/docs/

FormPanel.getForm

Sigma
14 Aug 2009, 8:28 AM
Hi Animal,

Thanks for helping. I tried the following code in the button's handler function:
fpName.getForm().submit({
method: 'POST',
url: 'cgi path'
});
It's not working though, I'm getting a JS error "XML Tag Mismatch". Anyone know what's wrong? Thanks.

Animal
14 Aug 2009, 9:27 AM
What does your JSON return packet look like?

Sigma
14 Aug 2009, 10:07 AM
My mistake, it was a silly error in the cgi script. Firebug tells me the script is receiving the submit which is good, I'm just not sure how to display the script in a new window. This is the perl cgi:
my $incoming = param('mainfield');
print <<EOF;
<html>
<head>
<title>test cgi</title>
</head>
<body>
$incoming
</body>
</html>
EOF
exit;
How do I make it so that when the user submits, the page opens in a new window?
I tried doing this:
fpName.getForm().on('submit', function() { window.open('cgi path'); } ); before submitting, but it doesn't work.

Animal
14 Aug 2009, 10:50 AM
I'm shocked.

And stunned.

Shocked and stunned.

Did you not evcen glance at this? http://extjs.com/deploy/dev/docs/?class=Ext.form.Action.Submit

Sigma
14 Aug 2009, 11:51 AM
I'm confused...