PDA

View Full Version : ExtJS authorization best practice

jpartogi
23 Aug 2009, 9:22 PM
Hi all,

I'm quite new with ExtJS and RIA in general and I want to ask what would be the best practice for doing authorization in ExtJS.

Case:
I have a user with USER ROLE and this user can not access several buttons/widgets in the application. Now what would be the best practice to prevent un-authorized user to access these buttons/widgets?
1. Do I use the server side language (and embed it in the html) to hide those button for un-authorized user
2. or do I just display the button and send back an error message to the view if the user is un-authorized to access the action for this button.

What would be the best practice in doing this in Ext-JS? Any insights would be highly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

evant
23 Aug 2009, 10:10 PM
I think it makes sense to either hide or disable the buttons if they user can't complete the action, no point having them wait for a roundtrip to the server to find it out. A common thing is to have the server send back the JSON after doing authorization checks.

Regardless, you should always still check if the user can complete the action on the server.

jpartogi
23 Aug 2009, 11:10 PM
I think it makes sense to either hide or disable the buttons if they user can't complete the action, no point having them wait for a roundtrip to the server to find it out. A common thing is to have the server send back the JSON after doing authorization checks.

Regardless, you should always still check if the user can complete the action on the server.

1. Would it be better to return a JSON object that return authorization data and disable/enable the button based on that
2. Or use a server side language (i.e PHP) and hide the button with it