PDA

View Full Version : Conditional settings in "config objects"

TheBerliner
30 Aug 2009, 6:43 PM
I am quite new to EXT and to JavaScript and I'm having a syntax problem when configuring panel or other EXT instances with what is called a "config object". I am having several such cases. In this example I am trying to make the elements of an accordion panel conditional. The panel works but I just cannot apply conditional adding of components.

var westAccord = new Ext.Panel({
id: 'westAccord',
layout:'accordion',
defaults: {blah blah}, //not important here
layoutConfig: {{blah blah}, //not important here

items: [{
id: 'accCatalogs',
title: tr.elAccCatalogs, //from translation
items: [catalogsGrid]
},
if(cfg.cfg501120) { //just pseudo-code to demonstrate
{id: 'accPageTitles', // this item should be added conditionally
title: 'blah blah',
title: tr.elAccPagesTitles,
items: [pagesGrid]
} //end config item
} //end if of pseudo-code
,{
and so forth.....Of course, this syntax does not work and it's meant here only in a symbolic form but I don't know any working syntax and I don't find any examples or the doc either.

How do you pros solve this?

I would very much appreciate a hint from the pros who they solve such problems. In my case, many components are to be configured from user settings. Unfortunately, almost all examples are using this config thing.

In my view, this "config object" (which really has nothing to do with an object) may look handy at first glance but I think it is evil, because it's not object-oriented, it is not concise in its expression and hiding vital information when one is reading it (not even the class of the instances is given). I think of it as "conf*ck".

evant
30 Aug 2009, 6:54 PM
Don't build it inline.

var items = [{
foo
},{
bar
}];
if(condition){
items.push({
baz
});
}
Ext.apply(this, {
items: items
});

TheBerliner
30 Aug 2009, 7:13 PM
Thank you very much,