PDA

View Full Version : Cannot load data into a grid programmatically

naddaf
14 Sep 2009, 7:37 AM
Hello Everyone.

I am new to Ext JS and am running into a problem that is most likely a silly error on my side. I have a combo box and a grid; when I select an item in my combo, I make an AJAX call to my server and receive a JSON array based on the selectesion in my combo box. Then I am trying to populate my grid with loadData(myJsonData). Here is the code snippet inside my select event handler on the combo:

--------------------------
Ext.Ajax.request({
url: 'getContacts?format=none&0=' + serviceName,
method: 'GET',
success: function(responseObject) {
var jsonContent = responseObject.responseText;
alert(jsonContent);
gridStore.loadData(jsonContent);
},
failure: function() {
Ext.Msg.alert('Status', 'Unable to show contacts at this time. Please try again later.');
}
});
------------------

The particular issue I have is that the "alert" shows the correct JSON array (also confirmed by firebug). However, my data doesn't show up in my grid (actually my grid shows many too many empty lines based on teh scrool bar). To debug further, I just copied the very same response that I got from my ajax response (copied from the alert box, for example) and put that in a local variable and replaced the above loadData() with the following one: "gridStrore.loadData(myLocalJsonArray)"
and it populates that perfectly, so I know my grid reader and store are fine but for some reason unknown to me, passing that array to loadData and using a local version of the very same data behave differently. Could someone please let me know what I am doing wrong?

Many thanks,
Ali.

14 Sep 2009, 8:21 AM
You have to encode the data.
gridStore.loadData(Ext.encode(jsonContent));

14 Sep 2009, 8:22 AM
Also, do yourself a favor and debug with Ext.Debug console or Firebug instead of alerts.

Mike Robinson
15 Sep 2009, 5:15 PM
Been there ... recently. Done that.

Suggestions: