PDA

View Full Version : Traverse DOM Element to get Component Id

mrinaljena
26 Sep 2009, 8:50 PM
Hi, i am new to ExtJS so sorry for my ignorance. I am making drag-n-drop i.e., dragging from Tree node to columns (in Table layout). Below is the code im writing for it. I am able to get my target(columns) element id. Could i use this element id to get back its corresponding Component id?

var target = Ext.getCmp("Item 1").body.dom;
var dropSomething = new Ext.dd.DropTarget(target, {
ddGroup : 'dragdashboard',
notifyDrop : function(ddSource, e, data)
{

var el = e.getTarget();
Ext.fly(el).update("Test");
}
});

Thanks,
Mrinal

arandal
26 Sep 2009, 9:34 PM
Try this:

{
var el = e.getTarget();
var id = Ext.get(el).id;
}
});

mrinaljena
26 Sep 2009, 9:43 PM
Thanks for your quick response. I tried to make an alert of "id" but it gives me "ext-gen120" as its id which is not my component id. I guess it is the DOM element i am getting now. Could i use this "id" and get its component id back?

arandal
26 Sep 2009, 10:29 PM
Yes, I see that the DropTarget is attached to your components body element, therefore the id you are getting should be for the body element. I'm not sure what type of component you are using but for instance, if your component is a GridPanel you might try something like this.

{
var el = Ext.get(e.getTarget());
var gridEl = el.findParent('div.x-grid-panel', 10, true);
var grid = Ext.getCmp(gridEl.id);
var id = grid.getId();

}
});
I haven't tested this but I think it should work.

mrinaljena
26 Sep 2009, 10:44 PM
Well in this piece of code var target = Ext.getCmp("Item 1").body.dom; , "Item 1" is the Component Id of the Table layout(3 columns) i am making it as my first drop target. And later var el = Ext.get(e.getTarget()); , i was trying to get individual coulmn component id(of Table layout) so that in my second drop i could use this coulmn component id as target and add some message on each coulmns.

Thanks,
Mrinal

arandal
27 Sep 2009, 10:40 AM