PDA

View Full Version : content panel tabs resulting in unexpected display issues



sjivan
26 Nov 2006, 8:40 PM
I have 3 ContentPanel tab's (A, B and C), the first two have separate grids and the third one is blank for now.

Grid A and Grid B have separate grid objects, schema's and data models. When Panel A is active, Grid A has all the rows and header title aligned. However when I switch to Panel B and then back to Panel A, Grid A's row columns are not aligned with its header. The odd thing that I'm noticing is that Grid A's header column width is now that of Grid B. The title labels display correctly though. I've gone through to see if there were any schema object conflicts, although if there were indeed conflicts then the title labels would also display incorrectly which is not the case. When I switch from Panel A to Panel C ( blank) back and forth several times, there are no dispaly issues. So somehow the grid in Panel B is affecting Panel A's grid. This behaviour happens in IE and Firefox.

I've tried grid.autoSize() and layout.layout() as mentioned in this thread :
http://www.yui-ext.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=833

but none of them work.

Another odd behavior that I'm seeing : I have 2 Content Panel Tabs ( A and B) . The Second Content Panel has 2 Tabs ( T1 and T2). When I switch from Panel A to B, the tabs and the contents in them display correctly. However if I go back to Panel A and return to Panel B, the contents of Tab 1 are empty. On switching to Tab 2 and then Tab1, the contents reappear.


Any pointers?

Thanks,
Sanjiv

jack.slocum
27 Nov 2006, 6:01 AM
Can you put up a link demonstrating the issues? They are too complex to try to debug in my head. :)

sjivan
27 Nov 2006, 6:40 AM
I'll try to make my IP / port publicly accessible later this evening but in the mean time here are shanpshots demonstrating the grid in content pane tab problem.

http://www.jroller.com/resources/s/sjivan/first-click.jpg

http://www.jroller.com/resources/s/sjivan/second-click.jpg

http://www.jroller.com/resources/s/sjivan/third-click.jpg

I also noticed that after the third click, where the columns are not aligned with the headers, if I manually drag the title to resize any column, the headers snap into position and become aligned with the row columns.

Sanjiv

Animal
27 Nov 2006, 6:54 AM
It's the multi-grid problem.

In this version, to have multiple Grids in the same document, you have to explicitly create style rules for all your columns to allow the GridView to set widths:



#containerid .ygrid-col-n {}


Where container id is the container (GridPanel) id.

You don't have to put styles in, just have the rules there for the GridView to use. I think Jack is putting some rule creation code we've been collaborating on in a future version so this will become unecessary.

sjivan
27 Nov 2006, 4:16 PM
Thanks! This fixed the issue.

Jack,
Are you planning on JIRA for yui-ext even if its for bugs only? I've made a lot of progress in just a few days and this was the only bad surprise so far (there were many good ones). In my experience so far, productivity using YUI-ext is tremendous compared to Dojo. I'll be blogging about the differences and my experience working on the two in a few weeks.

Sanjiv

jack.slocum
27 Nov 2006, 5:58 PM
Up until this point I have just been using the forum for easy issue discussing. I think I will whip up a bug tracker/reporting interface with yui-ext. All the tools available are great (like JIRA,Trac), but the interfaces are just too much for my taste. Any time I have 30-40 options to choose from, my brain just shuts down. :lol:

When you make your blog post please let me know. Something like would be great!!

jack.slocum
27 Nov 2006, 6:00 PM
I just checked out the latest version of JIRA, and it looks really nice. It also doesn't lock up my browser like Trac which is always a big plus.

Herm
27 Nov 2006, 6:19 PM
The google code has a simple issue tracker http://code.google.com/p/yui-ext/issues/list. You do need a Google Account to post though...