PDA

View Full Version : Need help overwriting element content with grid panel

estring
19 Oct 2009, 10:44 AM
I'm rather new to ExtJS, but I'm quickly learning my way around. However, I've been having a problem trying to do something quite simple.

I have a <div> that contains a loading message that I want to replace with a grid panel after the grid is done getting data via an AJAX request.

Here's my layout:

Ext.onReady(function(){
var viewport = new Ext.Viewport({
layout:'border',
autoWidth: true,
items:[{
autoScroll:true,
region:'center',
padding: '0 0 0 0',
layout:'column',
items:[{
columnWidth:.5,
baseCls:'x-plain',
bodyStyle:'padding:5px 5px 5px 5px',
html: '<div id="notes-wrapper" class="mpage-container">Loading...</div><div id="medicalreconcilliation-wrapper" class="mpage-container">Loading...</div>'

},{
columnWidth:.47,
baseCls:'x-plain',
margins:'0 16px 0 0',
bodyStyle:'padding:5px',
html: '<div id="patienteducation-wrapper" class="mpage-container">Loading...</div><div id="followup-wrapper" class="mpage-container"></div>Loading...<div id="portaltabs-wrapper" class="mpage-container"></div>'

}]
}]
});
loadpageData();
});//end onReady
I am kicking off a bunch of ajax requests asynchronously inside the loadpageData() function. So I want to replace "Loading..." message with the results of my AJAX requests. For most requests, I'm building grid panels to insert into the DOM. I've tried the renderTo config in the grids to add the grid to the DOM, but that appends the grid to the div's innerHTML instead of overwriting content so I end up with a loading message followed by my grid instead of just the grid inside the <div> tags.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mike Robinson
19 Oct 2009, 11:01 AM
Padewan... you want to use a "Viewport" object, and within that, to lay out everything else in your application using "layout: border" or somesuch.