PDA

View Full Version : Big Application - Defining Views

SvenDiego
21 Oct 2009, 10:28 PM
Hi,

I'm new to ExtJS and want to port our app to Ext. At the moment we have a server app with more than 100.000 lines of code. the server is responsible for generating the html markup.

i've read saki's tutorial about "Big Applications" and have a few questions:

1. do i have to design every view upfront in my "app.js", if i want to use ext components and layout? that is my understanding right now. if i use this approach i get a clean seperation of business logic and GUI. so every data i load will be of type JSON?!

2. only where simple html is enough i don't have to define the view. i just need to know the div to update its content?!

is this correct?

at the moment i use jquery for scripting. every time the ajaxRequest completes i script some gui things. but the server response is "always" html.

mitchellsimoens
22 Oct 2009, 2:26 PM
1. do i have to design every view upfront in my "app.js", if i want to use ext components and layout? that is my understanding right now. if i use this approach i get a clean seperation of business logic and GUI. so every data i load will be of type JSON?!

Everything doesn't HAVE to be JSON. You can use a simple AJAX request to return anything. JSON is just easy to use if say you wanted to display a component like a gridPanel.

2. only where simple html is enough i don't have to define the view. i just need to know the div to update its content?!

As I just said, when you call an AJAX request and when you get your response you can update anything with it. It doesn't have to be an ExtJS component.

example..

Ext.Ajax.request({
waitMsg: "Please wait...",
url: "functions.php",
params: {
task: "GET-SOMETHING"
},
success: function(response){
//do something with response.responseText
},
failure: function(response){
Ext.MessageBox.alert('error','Something went wrong');
}
});

SvenDiego
23 Oct 2009, 6:39 AM