PDA

View Full Version : Grid Paging: Proxy to Read a Function question.

Boing
5 Nov 2009, 8:45 PM
Hello,

This is my first post on here, and I have been browsing the forums for over 4 months now. Kudos to the community on help I've found on these here forums, you've helped me out a lot already and am really grateful and thankful. I just only started using ExtJS since 3.0.0 was officially released. Thanks!!!

I've tried my best not to post anything, sorry. So here's my question/situation.

I am creating an paging grid that gets its data from a separate function that returns an array ([[1,2,3,4],[1,2,3,4]]). This function uses ActiveXObjects and is IE6 only(X_X). I made it this was so that it can access and query an MS Access database that's on the network and return an array of data (This I cannot change this until my work changes their minds).

I already had success in creating the list using ux.data.PagingMemoryProxy however I read that for large amount of "entries" I should be using something else.

*Please note this is using the paging toolbar.

Problems I had with PagingMemoryProxy:
- Large Number of Entries = slowness around 5000
- When I refesh, it refreshes the original "store"(when it first ran the function) and does not execute the function "AccessDatabase" again.

I'm trying to use DirectProxy to run the function , and it does run the function(it says hi to me), however it does not populate the grid.... does DirectProxy only accept JSONReader and not Array reader?
If I am supposed to use JSON format can someone show me how to set it up for DirectProxy....I looked at some examples, but I couldn't figure it out(for example what is 'tid' ? thread id?)...sorry

Even if I use Direct proxy will it "refresh" if I click on the refresh button in the paging toolbar?

I was thinking about trying live grid, but I can't seem to go to the site or find the latest version.

Here's what I have so far to access the directproxy. Am I missing "param" stuff?