PDA

View Full Version : Ext.example help required

georgemitchell
22 Dec 2009, 12:29 PM
As someone from the C++ and .NET I'm new to Javascript and Especially ExtJS.

Looking through the examples seemed to be the best way to get up to speed, until that is, I tried to understand the Ext.example function code. Can someone dissect this or point me to a resource that does.

What exactly does the following do, since it passes no parameters?

Ext.onReady(Ext.example.init, Ext.example);

Also, external calls from examples to Ext.example.msg appear to have 3 parameters and not just the two specified. I know the third is the format variable but how does that 'fit in'?

Lastly, if you just call Ext.example what is it returning? The result appears to be an object with msg and init properties?????

Yes, I know to all you JS experts and not-so experts it may be obvious but to a newcomer it's hell. To put this in the examples section of ExtJS without a word of telling how it works is not good.

I tried googling Array.prototype.slice.call(arguments,1) and found an article saying this was a dirty way of applying array methods to 'arguments' that don't have such properties. Comments left included "I feel sick" and others saying it was 'cool'. Why is a 'hack' in examples? To throw people like me?

If someone would dissect Ext.example or Ext.example.msg for me I'd be grateful. I know what it does and understand the actual displaying of the message but can you actually call a function within an object from outside, since I guess msg: xxxxx is the enty point of most message calls even though it appears to be declared as half the return object.

Anyone?

VinylFox
22 Dec 2009, 1:38 PM
...What exactly does the following do, since it passes no parameters?

Ext.onReady(Ext.example.init, Ext.example);

[SIZE=2]...

The onReady method takes two arguments (typically), the first is the function to call when the document is ready, the second is the scope to run that function under.