PDA

View Full Version : TabPanel IE resizing problem

MattBass
29 Dec 2009, 11:27 AM
Hi guys. I've been working with ExtJS for about a month now. I'm an experimented software/web developer, but not JavaScript guru at all.

So here's my problem. Basically, I want a TabPanel to fill the entire width of my page and adjust to this page when ever it is resized. It's the exact same behavior you can see here: http://www.yui-ext.com/deploy/dev/docs/ when you open document for many classes at the same time.

I've been trying many different approaches to achieve my goal, but here's where I am now (code following...):

An HTML page with two divs, one inside another.
A simple panel with layout set to 'fit' that is rendered to the "inside" div.
A TabPanel which is the only item of the above panel.

HTML code for the divs

<div id='roger' style='position:relative; width: 100%; height: 100%;'>
<div id='contentTabPanel'
style='overflow: hidden; position: absolute; width: 100%; height: 100%; top: 0; left: 0;'/>
</div>

'fit' Panel code

var contentFitPanel = new Ext.Panel({
renderTo: 'contentTabPanel',
layout: 'fit',
items: [
contentTabPanel
]
});

Code for TabPanel and test tabs

var contentTabPanel = new Ext.TabPanel({
resizeTabs: true, // turn on tab resizing
minTabWidth: 115,
tabWidth: 135,
enableTabScroll: true,
autoWidth: true,
height: 250,
defaults: {autoScroll: true},
activeTab: 0,
plugins: new Ext.ux.TabCloseMenu()
});

// tab generation code
var index = 0;
while(index < 7){
addTab();
}
function addTab(){
contentTabPanel.add({
title: 'New Tab ' + (++index),
iconCls: 'tabs',
html: 'Bob',
closable: true
}).show();
}

I also added this code and now it works great in Firefox 3.5 and Chrome:

window.onresize = function(event) {
contentFitPanel.doLayout();
contentTabPanel.doLayout();
}

Right now, the problem in IE 8 is that it works great when I make it wider, but not when I make it narrower. The TabPanel does not resize at all and the right part becomes invisible.