PDA

View Full Version : Record Count

KJD
2 Jan 2010, 1:50 PM
I'm still learning so please bear with me. I am loading an XML file from the server with 195 records of data. I put this into a grid and I can see the data. I also have a statusbar which I would like to show the total number of records. Right now I am just using console.log() to try and get this information but with no luck. I thought this came directly from the Ext.XML.Reader can someone help me out?

httpdotcom
2 Jan 2010, 9:04 PM
grid.getStore().getCount()

KJD
3 Jan 2010, 2:52 PM
Trying this I get an error that grid is not defined? Not sure why this would be. I am using a FormGrid, actually the one from the examples. Any ideas?

david l
3 Jan 2010, 3:08 PM
are you using the same variables as the example?

if so, use gridForm.getStore().getCount()

KJD
3 Jan 2010, 4:15 PM
Yes, I am using the same variables as the example did. The error I get now says - gridForm.getStore is not a function. Is there anything that could affect this in the XML reader perhaps?

david l
3 Jan 2010, 6:00 PM
sorry about that, i was looking at the wrong variable...

it should be ds.getCount();

KJD
3 Jan 2010, 6:47 PM
Hi David -
I have this working sort of. I have assigned a variable like this -

var tot_recs = ds.getCount();
console.log("Number of records:" + tot_recs);

But it only works when I run this from a button click function. I am assuming that the datastore has not actually loaded in time for this to work for some reason. Shouldn't this work after the ds.load() function?

Mike Robinson
4 Jan 2010, 7:41 AM
The data is available only after the 'load' event fires. You do not know, per se, when that will be.

In particular, a call like "ds.load()" only initiates the request ... "fills out the postcard and drops it in the mailbox," if you will. There's an indeterminate amount of time that will pass between the request and the subsequent response.