PDA

View Full Version : IE problem forcing JSON

DigiDog
26 Jan 2010, 1:18 PM
Hi,

I'm pretty new to ExtJS, but getting the hang of it very quickly
My server-side is .Net, specifically asmx (web services).

My problem is that I am unable to configure forms and a JsonStore to actually use JSON to consume my web service (.Net web services only return JSON if request had Content-Type: application/json)

For example, to force my store to use JSON I do these 2 things:

1) Add a header in the HttpProxy

new Ext.data.JsonStore({
// store configs
proxy: new Ext.data.HttpProxy({
method: 'POST',
url: "json/common.asmx/getItems",
headers: {"Content-Type": "application/json; charset=utf-8"}

}),
2) On beforeload of the store, I copy parameters to the jsonData store parameter.

listeners:
{
beforeload: function(store, options)
{
Object.extend(store.proxy.conn.jsonData, options.params);
return true;
},

This generally allows me to get JSON from my webservice.
But now, after 2-3 weeks of development I realize that it doesn't work in IE.

Because in IE there's some extra content type header and my webservice fails to work.

in IE:

Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded; charset=UTF-8, application/json; charset=utf-8in FF:

Content-Type: application/json; charset=utf-8

Is there any way around this?
Is there a way to force ExtJS to use only application/json in the requests?
Should I be using some other technique to generate JSON on my .Net server-side?
Would switching to WCF help?

Thanks!

jsemmanuel
27 Jan 2010, 1:59 AM
I haven't used .NET but when php returns a json reponse, the headers are still text/html. It doesn't really matter what type the response is. Just that it is valid json. Isn't there some function like json_encode in php for .NET?

But as I said, I haven't used .NET before. Have a look at this though
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/288850/how-to-return-json-from-a-2-0-asmx-web-service

DigiDog
27 Jan 2010, 2:34 AM