PDA

View Full Version : JSON performance went out window

Tumac
31 Jan 2010, 10:49 PM
First - I am fairly new to ExtJS. 2nd, I have googled lots of links on performance and read all the moaning, groaning and good suggestions as well.

I have been developing a nice little app that displays several pieces of data across several grids in a viewport. A dashboard of sorts.

I devlop locally on XAMPP and have had no delay issues with my JSON until recently. I have made no changes to any underlying code for my JSON calls. I retrieve my data using PHP from MySQL with CodeIgniter framework.

My app has Rowselect fucntions that when a grid row is clicked, it loads 4 other grids with apporpriate query data.

At most, the queries are returning 12 rows of data and in most of the grids only 2-3.

As I have developed and gotten things working properly, the datastore/JSON loads have been snappy.

The application load is snappy and my viewport with all the grids renders fine. The JSON returns are taking upwards of 20-25 seconds for minimal bytes.

Can someone help point me in the right direction out of the gazillion performance posts?

Even when I call the JSON function directly in my php it is taking a little dive, so I cannot see that it is totally a extjs problem. I have booted my dev box, loaded the same code on my Test environment and have same problem.

Part time devloper with enough knowledge to be dangerous (but have a good sense of what I am doing, just a little green to the harder core issues).

Mike Robinson
1 Feb 2010, 8:04 AM
Let me take a wild guess...

Is this dataset pageable? If so, do you have "{start: 0, limit: 20}" in your baseParams?