PDA

View Full Version : passing Textfield Value on Form to GridPanel within Form

Tumac
16 Feb 2010, 11:28 AM
I have a form that has Master-Detail duties. Much like an invoice with header data which is singular and detail record which is 1:n.

In order to insert the detail records properly, my EditorGridPanel must pick up the KEY field from the Form.

Question 1: Can this be done prior to the form being submitted (I only want the user to submit form once)?

Question 2: If so, Which EXTJS method should I use to do this? I have tried setting a VAR = xxxx and then calling for it in my Editor grid new Record? I have tried setting the variable many different ways, and when I call it in the grid, I just get the textual representation of the variable code string or an error that the variable parameters is undefined.

I think I may be calling the variable correctly, but have a chicken-egg dilemma:

1) I declare the variable right before the grid is rendered. At this time, the form code has not been run since the form includes the grid.

2) If I place the grid after the form, the grid is not defined so it cannot be included in the form.

3) If I define the variable at the time the new gridRow is created, I just get the textual representation of the variable declaration.

4) If I declare the variable after the form is created (thus the grid is rendered), I get nothing.

This makes me think I need a listener on my textfield that sets the variable if there is a value entered (not sure how to do this exactly). Which I am not very good at yet as I have only been working with EXT for about 2 months and only built from the examples and basics at this point.

Any help or guidance is appreciated. I am supplying my variable declaration (s) as well as the code that handles the grid record addition. Screenshot attached as well.

//FORM FIELD
var textPOID = {
xtype: 'textfield'
,id:'field_poID'
,fieldLabel: 'Order #'
,valueField: 'poID'
,hiddenName: 'poID'
,name: 'poID'