PDA

View Full Version : Component destruction and other extjs memory issues ..

vrkiran
3 Mar 2010, 5:26 PM
Are there any FAQ, documents or examples that discuss how to cleanup components and other objects in the life cycle of a window, form, tab, tree, grid etc? None of the main examples in extjs.com seem to deal with this issue (atleast not that I could find). Over a few hundred reloads during debugging, FF goes to 1G+!!

I am new to extjs and any links will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Ravi

Mike Robinson
4 Mar 2010, 8:20 AM
That is pretty-much "FireBug doing its thing." Not so much FireFox.

I can't speak authoritatively on the memory-management of Firefox during normal operation, but I do know that "there's only so much time you can spend debugging" before you need to close and restart Firefox.

Maybe that's a good thing, all in all, because: there's only so much time time you can spend debugging before you need ~o).

Webmasters: "I see the icon for coffee. But where's the icon for strong Scotch whiskey?" >:)

vrkiran
4 Mar 2010, 9:48 AM
That is pretty-much "FireBug doing its thing." Not so much FireFox.

I can't speak authoritatively on the memory-management of Firefox during normal operation, but I do know that "there's only so much time you can spend debugging" before you need to close and restart Firefox.

Maybe that's a good thing, all in all, because: there's only so much time time you can spend debugging before you need ~o).

Webmasters: "I see the icon for coffee. But where's the icon for strong Scotch whiskey?" >:)

Thanks for your response!

May be I did not ask my question very clearly. I am not worried much about memory accumulation during my debugging/testing (firebug is disabled for most part anyway).