PDA

View Full Version : [DEFER-698] Ext.ux.ToolbarDroppable



tobiu
9 Mar 2010, 10:10 AM
hi team,

i played around with the demo in firefox and got errors like in the screen several times. (happens on drop). if you take a button and move it from one side to the other, everything is fine again.

the other stuff of the 3.2 announcement looks really great!


kind regards,
tobiu

Jamie Avins
9 Mar 2010, 10:12 AM
Thanks for the update, we're looking into it.

edspencer
9 Mar 2010, 10:20 AM
It's down to the Reorderer not cleaning up after itself properly yet - you'd never know usually but when used with the Droppable it crops up with this bug.

I'm able to reliably reproduce it by rearranging the buttons first and then dropping any item onto the toolbar. We'll have this fixed for 3.2 final.

edspencer
22 Mar 2010, 4:02 PM
After looking into it more deeply it seems this was actually symptomatic of a deeper problem - namely the way our Toolbars actually work under the hood.

As of 3.2 and earlier, a special Toolbar Layout creates a very deeply nested DOM tree and injects Toolbar items into it at certain positions. While looking in to this bug I refactored this class but realised it should really just be an HBox layout.

I've rewritten a lot of this code now to use HBox everywhere (ditto for TabPanel), which allows us to remove a bunch of code and gives us performance benefits. It will also make this reordering behavior built in and fully functional.

Although I have it working well locally, these changes are brand new so won't make it in to 3.2. They will be present in svn very shortly and we'll thoroughly test them before they make it into a release.

tobiu
22 Mar 2010, 10:20 PM
hi ed,

this sounds really really nice. it is a big step, so take your time for testing. if you need help with that, drop me a pm (we could use my fieldmanager-app for testing).


kind regards,
tobiu

cbaj26
13 Oct 2010, 6:43 AM
What is the current state of this issue? It appears that this bug still exists in 3.3.0.