Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Store vs Proxy

  1. #1
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    52
    Vote Rating
    2
      0  

    Question Store vs Proxy

    Hi folks,

    I am designing my first sencha app and put a lot of thinking into architecture... I am a long time dev with e.g. rails or grails.

    I am asking myself if its better to create proxies that hold service data for corresponding Models or stores?


    What you guys prefer?


    Thanks

    Flo

  2. #2
    Sencha User AndreaCammarata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,395
    Vote Rating
    22
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikih View Post
    Hi folks,

    I am designing my first sencha app and put a lot of thinking into architecture... I am a long time dev with e.g. rails or grails.

    I am asking myself if its better to create proxies that hold service data for corresponding Models or stores?


    What you guys prefer?


    Thanks

    Flo
    Hi mikih.
    I read you an extract of the official Sencha docs.

    "Proxies are used by Stores to handle the loading and saving of Model data. Usually developers will not need to create or interact with proxies directly."

    I think this is exactly what you want to know.
    To store data you have to create stores.

    Hope this helps.
    Sencha Inc
    Andrea Cammarata, Solutions Engineer
    Owner at SIMACS

    @AndreaCammarata
    www.andreacammarata.com
    github: https://github.com/AndreaCammarata

    TUX components bundle for Sencha Touch 2.x.x
    https://github.com/AndreaCammarata/TUX


  3. #3
    Sencha Premium User mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    40,382
    Vote Rating
    1529
      0  

    Default

    However, if you look in the docs for Model, you can see in an example of using Proxies in a Model. It has it's use cases. Basically, if you need to manager more than 1 Model, use a Store. If you only need to CRUD with just one Model, you can then use a Proxy on the Model.
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Modus Create, Senior Frontend Engineer
    ________________
    Need any sort of Ext JS help? Modus Create is here to help!

    Check out my GitHub:
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

Similar Threads

  1. Use of Proxy with a Store for a List
    By Nemo76 in forum Sencha Touch 1.x: Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15 Dec 2010, 3:00 AM
  2. Proxy data store
    By dpicky in forum Sencha Touch 1.x: Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6 Oct 2010, 7:39 AM
  3. Change Store Proxy URL without Creating New Store
    By rkdeiss in forum Ext 3.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13 Apr 2010, 11:16 AM
  4. Load JSON to store without Proxy
    By mackenda in forum Ext GWT: Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29 Jan 2010, 12:03 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •