Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: form.Select on Android 2.2 not working.

  1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    133
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default form.Select on Android 2.2 not working.

    Using a Select object and I can't get it working on an Android 2.2 device.

    Code:
    var motoroem = new Ext.form.Select({
              label: "Motor OEM",
              options: [
                {text: "LRP", value: "AE"},
                {text: "REEDY", value: "RDY"},
                {text: "CASTLE", value: "CSL"}
              ]
            });
    Any clue why this won't work?

  2. #2
    Sencha User joseeight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    85
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    The forms on Android don't really work, check the blog and release notes, also the "bugs" forum. I had to remove using Selects on my app to get it to work, I went with lists instead.

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    133
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    Thanks joseeight,
    this is my first couple of hours with Sencha Touch. So far Extremely easy to use.

    Any ETA on getting Android Forms working?

  4. #4
    Sencha User joseeight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    85
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    Not sure, they fixed most of the form problems last release, but the <select> native or via sencha component remained broken.

    My app used to have drop downs for the user to select the location, but I had to change them to lists: http://renaissancenavigator.com/mobile/touch.html (select no when detecting location)

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    133
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joseeight View Post
    Not sure, they fixed most of the form problems last release, but the <select> native or via sencha component remained broken.

    My app used to have drop downs for the user to select the location, but I had to change them to lists: http://renaissancenavigator.com/mobile/touch.html (select no when detecting location)
    Hey, thanks for the link and the idea. Kind of sucks to have to do that for a handful of choices, but I'll deal with it for now. That's a pretty good idea, apart from drawing your own(not sure if thats even possible).

    I would really love to see this working, seems like its been broken for some time. Wonder why, I was under the impression that Android's browser is pretty strictly webkit compliant.

  6. #6
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    23
    Vote Rating
    2
      0  

    Default

    Are you sure they don't work? We've got an app that is in production (being used on Android) and we have an Ext.form.Select that works perfectly (we have tested with 2.1 & 2.2 on a Samsung Galaxy S).

    The only thing I see different from Kcarpenter's example is that we load the values using .setOptions (as they change dinamically).

    ---

    That being said, for our next projects we are going to tell our customers to avoid Android. The number of things that fail/behave weirdly is too much (fields that get pushed off the screen when the keyboard appears, fields that keep being highlighted on the screen after they disappear, touchdragging a field can make the toolbars go off the screen, animations that stutter, times when the browser things it's on landscape mode but it's not, hangs that lead to killing the browser with the task manager, and everything is quite slower than in iOS, just to name a few things).

  7. #7
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    133
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    Thanks for the tip Salva, I'll see if setOptions() helps later today and report back.
    But for the record I am also using a Galaxy S device for test, a Samsung Epic 4g.
    I've got access to a Galaxy Tab I should try on. I was told earlier that my drop downs are not working on iPhone 3GS either, sounds like an issue with my implementation more than anything at this point.

    Thankfully I am not doing any drag and drop, mainly just forms and Sencha provides a good back bone to make sure that everything works well between devices.

Similar Threads

  1. Select not working on Android and iPhone
    By vishalnnsingh in forum Sencha Touch 1.x: Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 23 May 2013, 2:01 PM
  2. Ext.form.Select and Android
    By Tuscon in forum Sencha Touch 1.x: Bugs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18 Aug 2011, 12:50 PM
  3. [OPEN-542] Ext.form.Select broken on Android
    By mikeyroy in forum Sencha Touch 1.x: Bugs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11 Nov 2010, 2:57 PM
  4. [OPEN-504] <select> not working on Android
    By joseeight in forum Sencha Touch 1.x: Bugs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4 Nov 2010, 7:28 AM
  5. <select> not aligning properly in Android (all versions include 0.98)
    By joseeight in forum Sencha Touch 1.x: Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2 Nov 2010, 4:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •