Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: [OPEN]ComboBox's setValue call with a remotely loaded Store

    Thank you for reporting this bug. We will make it our priority to review this report.
  1. #1
    Ext JS Premium Member devtig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Posts
    422

    Default [OPEN]ComboBox's setValue call with a remotely loaded Store

    This is not a bug, but a question and hope that this override is not necessary anymore in Ext JS 4?

    http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthre...y-loaded-Store

  2. #2
    Sencha User fmntf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Siena, Italy
    Posts
    35

    Default

    +1

  3. #3
    Sencha Premium User evant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    19,250

    Default

    There is sort of support for it already, the combo checks if the store is loading while setValue is called. If that happens, it defers the setValue call until later.

    The thing I don't like about the linked thread is it all seems a bit hacky.
    Twitter - @evantrimboli
    Former Sencha framework engineer, available for consulting.
    As of 2017-09-22 I am not employed by Sencha, all subsequent posts are my own and do not represent Sencha in any way.

  4. #4
    Ext JS Premium Member devtig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Posts
    422

    Default

    That's a matter of how you define hacky. Off course the posted code makes sense. It does what it needs to do in logical way. To the average ExtJS user/developer however it's just a lot of code and a lot of logic for functionality that they/I would expect from the framework itself.

    I hope you're not suggesting that where actually going to need a similar override in Ext 4?

  5. #5
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Austria, Vienna
    Posts
    264

    Default

    @evant: how is a combobox in an edit form supposed to work? Should it load all items and find the selected one by id? That's awefully slow for comboboxes with hundreds or even thousands of items where you'd normally load the items based on a search term.

  6. #6
    Ext JS Premium Member devtig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Posts
    422

    Default

    No, it should not load all items. Your server should not have sent all items, but only the item with the id requested.

  7. #7
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Austria, Vienna
    Posts
    264

    Default

    @devtig: but the ExtJS combobox doesn't load a single item without the override.

  8. #8
    Ext JS Premium Member devtig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Posts
    422

    Default

    why?

  9. #9
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Austria, Vienna
    Posts
    264

    Default

    The override adds this functionality because it's missing in ExtJS's Combobox class.

  10. #10
    Ext JS Premium Member devtig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Posts
    422

    Default

    No it doesn't. The override adds the functionality of being able to call setValue on a ComboBox with a remotely loaded store that isn't loaded yet.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Combobox: setValue happens before store is loaded?
    By hallikpapa in forum Ext 3.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10 Jul 2016, 3:00 AM
  2. Combobox loaded remotely and scriptTagProxy question..
    By ImperioG in forum Ext 3.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12 Oct 2010, 11:51 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8 Nov 2007, 8:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •