Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Floating property?

  1. #1
    Sencha User AndreaCammarata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,395
    Answers
    148

    Default Answered: Floating property?

    Hi guys,
    I noticed that in Touch 2.x there's no more 'floating' property available (it was a Ext.lib.Component property).
    Now that Ext.lib.Component class is not part of the framework too and panels inherits from Ext.AbstractComponent, will be still possible to create floating panels?

    I think that this will still be possible, even because the $include-floating-panels SASS variable is still available, so maybe the property has still not been ported yet, is that correct?

    Thank you guys.
    Sencha Inc
    Andrea Cammarata, Solutions Engineer
    Owner at SIMACS

    @AndreaCammarata
    www.andreacammarata.com
    github: https://github.com/AndreaCammarata

    TUX components bundle for Sencha Touch 2.x.x
    https://github.com/AndreaCammarata/TUX


  2. It's still there... if you look at the Kitchen Sink and go to User Interface and then Overlays... the Overlay button will launch a floating Panel so this is just an API doc miss.

  3. #2
    Sencha Premium User mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    40,450
    Answers
    3997

    Default

    It's still there... if you look at the Kitchen Sink and go to User Interface and then Overlays... the Overlay button will launch a floating Panel so this is just an API doc miss.
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Modus Create, Senior Fullstack Engineer
    ________________
    Modus Create is based on the model of an open source team. We’re a remote, global team of experts in our field. To find out more about the work we do, head over to our website.

    Check out my GitHub:
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

  4. #3
    Sencha User AndreaCammarata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,395
    Answers
    148

    Default

    Thank you Mitchell.
    Yes, you are right, it seems to be still there, so I I had miss something else for sure, because, trying to create a new floating view in a sample app from a controller, I've got a console message telling me that it was no possible to create a view without to place it inside a container.

    Any idea?
    Sencha Inc
    Andrea Cammarata, Solutions Engineer
    Owner at SIMACS

    @AndreaCammarata
    www.andreacammarata.com
    github: https://github.com/AndreaCammarata

    TUX components bundle for Sencha Touch 2.x.x
    https://github.com/AndreaCammarata/TUX


  5. #4
    Sencha Premium User mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    40,450
    Answers
    3997

    Default

    I tried this without any problems:

    Code:
    Ext.create('Ext.Panel', {
        floating         : true,
        centered         : true,
        modal            : true,
        scrollable       : true,
        width            : 300,
        height           : 300,
        styleHtmlContent : true,
        html             : '<p>This is a test</p>',
        items            : [
            {
                xtype  : 'toolbar',
                docked : 'top', //NOTE this will change to just dock
                title  : 'Test'
            }
        ]
    }).show();
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Modus Create, Senior Fullstack Engineer
    ________________
    Modus Create is based on the model of an open source team. We’re a remote, global team of experts in our field. To find out more about the work we do, head over to our website.

    Check out my GitHub:
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

  6. #5
    Sencha User AndreaCammarata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,395
    Answers
    148

    Default

    Again thank you Mitchell.
    It looks like the code I wrote, so maybe I made some stupid mistake in my app MVC config.
    I will let you know later with more deatails.

    However, the "floating" property has been found so this question is answered.
    Sencha Inc
    Andrea Cammarata, Solutions Engineer
    Owner at SIMACS

    @AndreaCammarata
    www.andreacammarata.com
    github: https://github.com/AndreaCammarata

    TUX components bundle for Sencha Touch 2.x.x
    https://github.com/AndreaCammarata/TUX


  7. #6
    Sencha User Jamie Avins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Redwood City, California
    Posts
    3,661
    Answers
    17

    Default

    Floating itself isn't necessary, if you give any component a top, left, right, bottom, or centered it will remove itself from the control of the layout and position itself accordingly and add the appropriate floating cls. Floating as a config is redundant and unnecessary.

  8. #7
    Sencha User AndreaCammarata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,395
    Answers
    148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jamie Avins View Post
    Floating itself isn't necessary, if you give any component a top, left, right, bottom, or centered it will remove itself from the control of the layout and position itself accordingly and add the appropriate floating cls. Floating as a config is redundant and unnecessary.
    This makes sense Jamie, thank you for your answer!
    So the floating property has been deprecated.
    Sencha Inc
    Andrea Cammarata, Solutions Engineer
    Owner at SIMACS

    @AndreaCammarata
    www.andreacammarata.com
    github: https://github.com/AndreaCammarata

    TUX components bundle for Sencha Touch 2.x.x
    https://github.com/AndreaCammarata/TUX


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •