Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Ext.Button.initialize does not invoke initialize on its base class

    Success! Looks like we've fixed this one. According to our records the fix was applied for TOUCH-1061 in a recent build.
  1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    240
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default Ext.Button.initialize does not invoke initialize on its base class

    Here's the initialize method from Ext.Button:

    Code:
    initialize: function() {        this.element.on({            scope      : this,            tap        : 'onTap',            touchstart : 'onPress',            touchmove  : 'onRelease',            touchend   : 'onRelease'        });    },
    Shouldn't it invoke initialize on its base class too so any extensions put on Ext.Component.initialize by "sequencing" it cascade down the the humble button class too.

  2. #2
    Sencha - Sr Software Engineer mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    39,553
    Vote Rating
    1272
      0  

    Default

    Thank you for the report.
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Software Engineer
    ________________
    Learn BBCode and use it! Checkout the CODE tag!

    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS and Sencha Touch
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    240
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    I believe initialize is an empty function in the base class by default (haven't checked it), so it works...

  4. #4
    Sencha - Sr Software Engineer mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    39,553
    Vote Rating
    1272
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by r_honey View Post
    I believe initialize is an empty function in the base class by default (haven't checked it), so it works...
    It is an empty function but what if you changed something in one of the superclasses, this wouldn't call it.
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Software Engineer
    ________________
    Learn BBCode and use it! Checkout the CODE tag!

    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS and Sencha Touch
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    240
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    And that's exactly why I have filed this bug report. I have sequenced initialize method for Component for providing additional features but it did not work with Button and I had to sequence Button's initialize again.

  6. #6
    Sencha User Jamie Avins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Redwood City, California
    Posts
    3,661
    Vote Rating
    19
      0  

    Default

    This has been fixed for the next release.

    Sencha Inc

    Jamie Avins

    @jamieavins

  7. #7
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    240
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    Thanks.. When can we expect it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •