Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Making the menu structure in kitchen sink pull from a database

  1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default Unanswered: Making the menu structure in kitchen sink pull from a database

    Looking for a bit of help on modifying the kitchen sink demo so that the menu on the left pulls from a SQL server database.

    My main goal is to set up a page such that an admin can change the menu structure in kitchen sink a web page. I have a SQL database built that stores the structure, and the admin utility is 90% done. My next step is getting the actual front end to use that info in the database.

    I have experience building AJAX calls in HTML that hit ASP pages to inject code into the HTML based on a query in the database, but I'm having some issues doing effectively the same thing on the kitchen sink demo so that the menu structure is updated. I know that the structure.js file is what drives the menu structure, and I've manually edited that to update with a static menu, so I'm familiar with that. My main issue is how do I update the structure.js file so it can hit a server-side .asp page to pull in an array with the current structure from the database.

    I should be fine once I have the array pulled in from the .asp page, but I just don't know to do that so its accessible from the structure.js file.

    Thanks a bunch in advance!

  2. #2
    Sencha - Sr Software Engineer mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    39,413
    Answers
    3898
    Vote Rating
    1269
      0  

    Default

    The menu structure is just a nested list I believe which uses a tree store which you can setup to load tree structure.
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Software Engineer
    ________________
    Learn BBCode and use it!

    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Do you have any examples of how to pull the tree store from an AJAX source?

  4. #4
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    I see that Sencha offers support services - do they offer paid consulting to build the page that I need?

  5. #5
    Sencha - Sr Software Engineer mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    39,413
    Answers
    3898
    Vote Rating
    1269
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chuckda4th View Post
    I see that Sencha offers support services - do they offer paid consulting to build the page that I need?
    We have a professional services team that you can contract out.

    http://www.sencha.com/contact/
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Software Engineer
    ________________
    Learn BBCode and use it!

    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  6. #6
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    I tried contacting them via the link you posted a couple weeks ago now, but still have not heard back.

    I see that we probably need to use Ext.data.TreeStore, but I can't find any examples where it is populated from a database. I've come across a few code examples of what doesn't work for people trying to do almost the same thing, but those ones in particular were never replied to.

    Any ideas?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •