Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Internationalization

  1. #1
    Sencha User Dumas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    589
    Vote Rating
    10
      0  

    Default Internationalization

    Hello!

    The new model of Sencha Designer seems to be that you don't export once and then code, but continuously build your app in Designer.

    So how should I handle internationalization of text in Ext Designer?

    Is there maybe some way to apply non-strings to string configs? I would like to apply text configs like:
    Code:
    title: Localize.t('Hello %s!','Roland')
    thanks
    Roland

  2. #2
    Sencha User aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,487
    Vote Rating
    145
      0  

    Default

    Localization support is something that we intend to tackle post GA.
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran

  3. #3
    Sencha User Dumas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    589
    Vote Rating
    10
      0  

    Default

    What's GA?

    Will you provide a whole set a features for locaizing or how will it look like? What's the best I can do now to make it later easy for me to localize?

    thanks
    Roland

  4. #4
    Sencha User Dumas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    589
    Vote Rating
    10
      0  

    Default

    Any more news.. we are starting a big project in two weeks and I would like to know how to handle it...

  5. #5
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Guatemala, Central America
    Posts
    1,527
    Vote Rating
    351
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dumas View Post
    Any more news.. we are starting a big project in two weeks and I would like to know how to handle it...
    Me too...
    UI: Sencha Architect 3.x / ExtJS 4 - 6
    Server side: JEE / EJB 3.x / CDI / JPA 2.x/ JAX-RS / JasperReports
    Application Server: Glassfish / WildFly
    Databases: Oracle / DB2 / MySQL / Firebird

    If you like my answer please vote!

  6. #6
    Sencha Premium Member intellix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    UK + Malta
    Posts
    263
    Vote Rating
    18
      0  

    Default

    This is also something I'm going to need for my large project so I guess if I can 1up this feature. It was heavily requested at SenchaDevCon as well

  7. #7
    Sencha User aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,487
    Vote Rating
    145
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by intellix View Post
    This is also something I'm going to need for my large project so I guess if I can 1up this feature. It was heavily requested at SenchaDevCon as well
    Noted.
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran

  8. #8
    Touch Premium Member hotdp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    604
    Vote Rating
    14
      0  

    Default

    Any news on this feature?

  9. #9
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    29
    Vote Rating
    41
      0  

    Default

    I'm interested too, as currently, half of my JS code is getting localized strings from server and "setText" lines
    And the slowest part is to find which property to use (text, fieldLabel, boxLabel,... )

  10. #10
    Sencha User aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,487
    Vote Rating
    145
      0  

    Default

    Architect 2.2 introduces the ability to "process" configurations. This allows you to run arbitrary JS to set particular configurations. This will certainly aide in internationalization although we have yet to put any formal mechanism in place yet for this purpose.
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •