Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Reading text field values generated by extJS4

  1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    26
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default Unanswered: Reading text field values generated by extJS4

    I am using ExtJS4 to develop my UI.

    I am using read only form and loading it in the controller using

    "popup.down('form').loadRecord(record);"


    Form fields are defined as

    items:[
    {
    xtype:'textfield',
    fieldLabel:'Array Id',
    name:'id'
    },
    {
    xtype:'textfield',
    fieldLabel:'Array Name',
    name:'name'
    }
    ]

    values : [ id:10, name: 'testing']

    Now the issue is I want to read the id (value: 10) and name (value: testing) values form generated HTML.

    The generated HTML code is:
    <form id = 'arraydevicewindowid'>

    <input type="text" autocomplete="off" class="x-form-field x-form-text" size="20" name="${array.arrayName}" id="ext-gen1314" readonly="" aria-readonly="true" aria-invalid="false" placeholder="--NA--" role="textbox" aria-describedby="textfield-1260-errorEl" aria-required="false" data-errorqtip="" style="width: 281px; height: 23px;">

    </form>

    I tried to use the following xpath to select value from a textfield component generated by Extjs:
    (//div[@id='arraydevicewindowid']//input)[1]//@value

    but it is returning null.

    The values don't exist in HTML form but is there any way I can read the values by setting some properties inside form.

    Thanks and Regards,
    Nari

  2. #2
    Sencha User Tim Toady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    603
    Answers
    67
    Vote Rating
    284
      0  

    Default

    Why do you want to read their values from html when you can just do popup.down('form').getValues()?

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    26
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    I want to read those values on Client Side for testing purpose

  4. #4
    Sencha User Tim Toady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    603
    Answers
    67
    Vote Rating
    284
      0  

    Default

    Client side? Your JS will be client side. Can you expound?

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    26
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    I am using selenium to test my UI screens. To read values in selenium i am using xpaths. As values are not appearing on HTML my tests are getting failed.

  6. #6
    Sencha - Support Team scottmartin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Houston, Tx
    Posts
    9,388
    Answers
    716
    Vote Rating
    499
      0  

    Default

    I thought Selenium required the id of the component for it to work correctly?

    Scott.

  7. #7
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    26
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    It's not the case always. As extJS4 randomly generating ids for components we are using xpaths, instead to select components. Even selection through ids is going to use xpaths internally.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •