Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Why doesn't Sencha use grunt as build tool in sencha cmd?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Sencha User La Muerte Peluda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Turin
    Posts
    25
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default Why doesn't Sencha use grunt as build tool in sencha cmd?

    As per title, I don't get why did Sencha choose ant as build tool in the latest Sencha Cmd tool. Ant is Java-based and requires xml config files, while using grunt http://gruntjs.com/, which is Javascript based and would use JSON config files, resulting more consistent with the other app configuration files.
    Moreover, you Sencha guys are JS geniuses: you could exploit that building environment at its top!
    Wouldn't it be nice for the next build tool releases?

    Vito

  2. #2
    Sencha - Sr Software Engineer mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    39,551
    Vote Rating
    1271
      0  

    Default

    The old Sencha Command used Node and some other things. The issue is that companies where not allowing these things to be installed on their computers. So grunt would not be an option.

    Java is allowed by every company I have ever been at (think Fortune 10).
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Software Engineer
    ________________
    Learn BBCode and use it! Checkout the CODE tag!

    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS and Sencha Touch
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

  3. #3
    Sencha User La Muerte Peluda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Turin
    Posts
    25
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    Well that's a more than important reason: corporate policies!

    I just didn't think about such problems because my research institute lets me install (almost) whatever software I want...

    Thank you!

  4. #4
    Sencha - Sr Software Engineer mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    39,551
    Vote Rating
    1271
      0  

    Default

    Enterprise and government are very restrictive on what you can put on the computers (easy to get around it if you wanted to) as they are scared of what info you will get off and what damage you can do.
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Software Engineer
    ________________
    Learn BBCode and use it! Checkout the CODE tag!

    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS and Sencha Touch
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

  5. #5
    Sencha User La Muerte Peluda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Turin
    Posts
    25
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    Sad, but true! I'm a lucky guy, really!

    I understand both Sencha's and enterprises point of view: to this point, using Java is the lesser evil.

    I think enterprise and govs should update both their software and their policies at the year 201x asap, or use some kind of sandboxing for the softwares they don't trust, but I know these processes require years and sometimes admins are a bit stubborn.

  6. #6
    Sencha - Sr Software Engineer mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    39,551
    Vote Rating
    1271
      1  

    Default

    Couldn't agree more.

    But there is a cost to upgrading computers and software, fixing bugs that are likely to happen. Some programs may not run on newer OS. So can't blame them really.

    Wasn't too long ago when Windows 95 was a popular OS at the FBI, that's just scary. (not saying FBI was a client of mine)
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Software Engineer
    ________________
    Learn BBCode and use it! Checkout the CODE tag!

    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS and Sencha Touch
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •