Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: ExtJS and Internet Explorer 6 !

  1. #21
    Ext JS Premium Member tvanzoelen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Groningen - Netherlands
    Posts
    1,199
    Answers
    87

    Default

    XMLHttp Requests for IE6 are activex objects, so somewhere in your browser that activex obejct is not available.

    Code:
    var xmlhttp;
    if (window.XMLHttpRequest)
      {// code for IE7+, Firefox, Chrome, Opera, Safari
      xmlhttp=new XMLHttpRequest();
      }
    else
      {// code for IE6, IE5
      xmlhttp=new ActiveXObject("Microsoft.XMLHTTP");
      }

  2. #22
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    36

    Default

    I know , I have done this 1000 times when I write Ajax manually, but in this case we use Extjs framework and this must be done by framework.
    I have not created XMLHttpRequest object myself in application that is what extjs does internally and it MUST be fixed by framework developers itself it can not be fixed in my application.

  3. #23
    Ext JS Premium Member tvanzoelen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Groningen - Netherlands
    Posts
    1,199
    Answers
    87

    Default

    Its I think in the Ext.data.Connection

    Code:
     getXhrInstance: (function() {
            var options = [function() {
                return new XMLHttpRequest();
            }, function() {
                return new ActiveXObject('MSXML2.XMLHTTP.3.0');
            }, function() {
                return new ActiveXObject('MSXML2.XMLHTTP');
            }, function() {
                return new ActiveXObject('Microsoft.XMLHTTP');
            }], i = 0,
                len = options.length,
                xhr;
    
            for (; i < len; ++i) {
                try {
                    xhr = options[i];
                    xhr();
                    break;
                } catch(e) {
                }
            }
            return xhr;
        }()),
    Anyway the try catch is, I think, raising questions by itself. You could try to override this function .

  4. #24
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Firstly the error screenshots are from official examples.
    And secondly I expect from framework to work in IE6 as it is written on official site, without overrides or hacking into framework code.

  5. #25
    Ext JS Premium Member tvanzoelen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Groningen - Netherlands
    Posts
    1,199
    Answers
    87

    Default

    Of course, for that reason it is good to know what part in the function is giving the error. By overriding it and set some console logs or alerts you could debug that. To be sure that the error is not caused by your browser configuration settings. Seeing the answers Sencha gives, the samples work for them.

    Only thing I can see in your case is that activex is not available or is throwing an exception on creating an instance. The raison why is I think captured in that try catch part.

  6. #26
    Sencha User slemmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    6,165
    Answers
    505

    Default

    I am seeing the issue you're seeing on the docs page and I can raise that issue internally. But, the examples pages running the code itself seem to be ok. Are you having trouble if you visit the examples pages as well?

  7. #27
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    36

    Default

    yes, example demos on website look fine, but there are errors in documentation examples and also in architect generated code.

  8. #28
    Sencha Premium User krullj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    123
    Answers
    5

    Default IE6 Compatibility

    I was wondering what the reason is that you need IE6 support to begin with. According to http://www.ie6countdown.com/ , less than 7% of the entire world uses IE6, and the majority of the users are located in China. Are you developing an application for Chinese users, or do you have a business requirement that it must support IE6?

    If you must code with IE6 support, does that also mean that the computers your users will be using are severely underpowered compared to today's computers? ExtJS is great, but if you care about performance, you're probably not going to have the best of luck with old versions of IE, especially when paired with legacy machines.

  9. #29
    Sencha User metalinspired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    98
    Answers
    4

    Default

    I agree with krullj. The moment Google dropped support for IE6 so did I. IE6 has bunch of vulnerabilities and it is no longer (for quite some time) supported by Microsoft itself.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •