Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can metadata created by Sencha Architect being generated on command line?

  1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default Can metadata created by Sencha Architect being generated on command line?

    I'm using ExtJS for web development and we recently need to integrate maven to generate WAR for deployment, so I'm trying to figure out how to automate the following build process,
    Source: All the files produced by Sencha Architect under metadata directory
    -----UNKNOWN Tool-----> js files -> Maven Assembly Plugin -> war

    Does any one who has experience on this or know the right tool for me to get started?

    Thanks,
    Tim.

  2. #2
    Sencha User aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,488
    Vote Rating
    147
      0  

    Default

    We know of the need for this but it is currently not on our roadmap as we have higher priority things to complete. There are a few requests for it:

    http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthre...g-command-line
    http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthre...ata-to-JS-code
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Ouch, that's so sad

    Can you ask your team to hardly reconsider putting it back on the roadmap as soon as possible, as the need for build/testing automation becomes more demanding day by day this issue would show its real priority soon.

    I'd suggest at least doing a workaround, maybe not a perfect tool but something we can integrate and your team can still extend. I believe there were bunch of people out there can help the integration part including me, you just need to show us the way to do it.

  4. #4
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    65
    Vote Rating
    69
      0  

    Default

    Me three. I can't view this thread unfortunately.

    My corp is using ant+hudson for build automation. We are necessarily checking into source control both the /app/ folder and the /metadata/ folder.

    One can be generated from the other using [File] > [Save Project As...] but it's a struggle to get people to give Architect the credit it deserves because of this shortcoming. This desirable feature would be very well received.

  5. #5
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    65
    Vote Rating
    69
      0  

    Default

    I've just noticed that the contents of override classes do not exist in the metadata folder at all. So we should respect the interaction of app/metadata folders are more complex than they appear; one isn't entirely generated from the other.

  6. #6
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Tolmin, Slovenia
    Posts
    43
    Vote Rating
    2
      1  

    Default

    Hi, I'd be interested in the feature to generate JS files from SA's metadata as well to automate the build process. Any news about this feature? Is it available in cmd 5?

  7. #7
    Sencha User aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,488
    Vote Rating
    147
      1  

    Default

    It's not yet available but we've had discussions about putting this into Cmd in the future.
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran

  8. #8
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Tolmin, Slovenia
    Posts
    43
    Vote Rating
    2
      0  

    Default

    Are there any news on this feature?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •