Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Future of Sencha Touch???

Sencha User
    Answers

Default Future of Sencha Touch???

Hi,
    I've been working with Sencha Touch for several months now, and I definitely enjoy to work on it.
    However, I recently recomended Sencha Touch to a new partner, and he had a look at it on Sencha website and many forums, to check if my recomendation was really justified (I would have done the same...).

What he discovered was very embarassing to me:
    • One the one hand, he read lot of very positive feedbacks about ST and so, was rapidly convinced about ST quality and performance.
    • But, on the other hand, he read several articles and comments that sent strong and threatening warnings about ST uncertain future.
    He saw the following announcement on SenchaCon 2015: "Were merging our Ext JS and Touch frameworks. Youll be able to build all of your web apps using a single framework and deliver a unique user experience for customers on desktops (using modern or legacy browsers), tablets, or smartphones.".

And immediately asked to me if all the developments we would make on ST will be lost when this will happen. I had absolutely no answer to give to him, as Sencha does not provide clear answer about this crucial question! Also, pace of Sencha Touch updates has strongly decreased recently, which is not really encouraging...

Additionaly, he had a look at Sencha licensing policy, and saw that there is no commercial offer for freelancers and small teams (less than 5 devs). And in case of merging ExtJS and Sencha Touch, as it was announced on SenchaCon 2015, would the resulting product be availabl for free as ST is actually?

So his next question was: Is Sencha Touch the good choice for small businesses and a perennial one? Again, I have no satisfying answer to provide to him, as Sencha does not have a clear position on this.